Aug. 20, 2015

COLUMBUS, Ohio – Five Ohio State Buckeyes – a total that tops all but one school’s total – are represented on the Football Writers Association of America’s 75th Anniversary All-America Team, which was released this morning by the organization.

Leading the way for the Buckeyes are three first-team members: running back Archie Griffin, offensive lineman Orlando Pace and defensive back Jack Tatum. Georgia’s Herschel Walker joins Griffin as the other first-team running back while Pace is joined along the offensive line by Alabama’s John Hannah, USC’s Ron Yary and a pair of Nebraska Cornhuskers: Will Shields and Dave Rimington.

Tatum is joined in the defensive backfield by Ronnie Lott of USC, Deion Sanders, from Florida State, and Michigan’s Charles Woodson.

Ohio State offensive lineman John Hicks is represented on the FWAA’s second-team with the rest of the unit consisting of Bill Fralic (Pittsburgh), Calvin Jones (Iowa), Jonathan Ogden (UCLA) and Chuck Bednarik (Penn).

Linebacker Chris Spielman is a third-team All-America linebacker alongside Jack Ham, from Penn State, and Lee Roy Jordan, of Alabama.

FWAA 75th All-Americans by school:

1.) Nebraska – 6
2.) Ohio State – 5      
      Pittsburgh – 5
4.) Alabama – 4
     Oklahoma – 4
     Texas – 4

FWAA 75th All-Americans by conference:

1.) Big Ten Conference – 19
2.) Atlantic Coast Conference – 15
3.) Southeastern Conference – 13
4.) Big 12 Conference – 10
5.) Pac-12 Conference – 7