May 16, 2001


Complete Release in PDF Format
Download Free Acrobat Reader


%^$COLUMBUS, Ohio – Days after capturing the Big Ten regular season championship, five Ohio State baseball players have earned First Team All-Big Ten honors, the conference announced today. Head coach Bob Todd was honored as Big Ten Coach of the Year, while Doug Deeds (Fr., Bexley, Ohio) nabbed Freshman of the Year honors.%^$

%^$Eight Buckeyes were named to the three All-Big Ten teams, led by a league-high on the first team. Nick Swisher (So., Parkersburg, W. Va) nabbed first-team honors at first base, while Mike Check (Sr., Bay Village, Ohio) earned the distinction as an outfielder. E.J. Laratta (Jr., Englewood, Colo.) and Cory Cox (Sr., Chillicothe, Ohio) were both nominated as first-team pitchers, while Deeds took first-team honors as a designated hitter. The first-team distinctions are the first for all five players.%^$

%^$Mike Harris (Sr., Hillsborough, N.C.) gleaned second-team All-Big Ten honors at second base, while starting pitchers Kevin Goodrum (Sr., Mentor, Ohio) and Greg Prenger (So., Harpster, Ohio) were named to the third team.%^$

%^$After collecting his sixth Big Ten championship in 14 years as head coach at Ohio State, Todd was honored as Big Ten Coach of the Year for the fourth time in his career. He also earned the honor in 1989, 1994 and 1999. Deeds becomes the third-consecutive Big Ten Freshman of the Year under Todd, following in the footsteps of Laratta in 1999 and Swisher in 2000.%^$

%^$2001 All-Big Ten Baseball Teams
%^$First Team
%^$First Base Nick Swisher, OSU
%^$Second Base David Blomberg, PU
%^$Shortstop Mike Duursma, PU
%^$Third Base Jack Hannahan, MINN
%^$Outfield Mike Check, OSU, Bob Malek, MSU, Nate Sickler, PU
%^$Des. Hitter Doug Deeds, OSU
%^$Catcher Chris Netwall, PSU
%^$Pitcher Andy Dickinson, ILL, Dave Gassner, PU, Mike Kobow, MINN, E.J. Laratta, OSU
%^$Relief Pitcher Cory Cox, OSU

%^$Second Team
%^$First Base Andy Schutzenhofer, ILL
%^$Second Base Mike Harris, OSU
%^$Shortstop Scott Welch, MINN
%^$Third Base Brock Koman, MICH
%^$Outfield Rob Fischer, ILL, Zack Smithlin, PSU, Sam Steidl, MINN
%^$Des. Hitter Kurt Haring, MINN
%^$Catcher Joe Hietpas, NU
%^$Pitcher Bryan Gale, MSU, Bobby Korecky, MICH, Dan McCall, PSU, Ben Quick, PU
%^$Relief Pitcher Dominick Squires, MSU

%^$Third Team
%^$First Base Josh Holthaus, MINN
%^$Second Base Mike DeRenzo, PSU
%^$Shortstop Kurt Vitense, Iowa
%^$Third Base Luke Simmons, ILL
%^$Outfield Brady Ballard, ILL, Jason Kennedy, MINN, Blake St. Clair, IND
%^$Des. Hitter Todd Moran, NU
%^$Catcher David Harrell, PU
%^$Pitcher Kevin Goodrum, OSU, Greg Prenger, OSU, Mike Nall, NU, Zach Schara, NU
%^$Relief Pitcher Jason Shupe, MINN

%^$Player of the Year: Jack Hannahan, 3B, MINN
%^$Pitcher of the Year: Andy Dickinson, ILL
%^$Freshman of the Year: Doug Deeds, DH, OSU
%^$Coach of the Year: Bob Todd, OSU