May 28, 2014

COLUMBUS, Ohio – Five members of the No. 1 Ohio State rowing team have received honors from the Collegiate Rowing Coaches Association (CRCA), as senior Claire-Louise Bode, junior Victoria Lazur, and sophomores Holly Norton and Catherine Shields have been named First Team All-Central Region and junior Ashley Bauer has been named Second Team All-Central Region.

All five Buckeyes are members of the first varsity eight, which has compiled a perfect 9-0 record throughout the 2014 season. The crew claimed a second-consecutive gold medal at the 2014 Big Ten Championships (May 18), contributing 63 points toward the championship record 164 points overall and clinching a conference-record tying fifth title for Ohio State.

The first varsity eight enters the 2014 NCAA Championships (May 30 – June 1) as the No. 1 seed in the 22-team field.

Student-athletes nominated for the award are evaluated on the strength of the team’s regional finish, coaches’ recommendations and their individual 2,000-meter erg score. In addition, the student-athletes must have competed in at least 75 percent of team races throughout the season.

In addition, six Buckeyes were named CRCA Scholar-Athletes. Sophomore Sarah Asad, juniors Nicole Becks, Chloe Meyer and Lazur, and seniors Lauren Eckles and Taylore Urban were all recognized for earning a 3.5 grade point average or higher while in at least their second year of eligibility. Student-athletes are also required to row in at least 75 percent of the team’s spring races in order to be eligible.

Ohio State returns to postseason action at the 2014 NCAA Championships May 30-June 1 at Eagle Creek Park in Indianapolis, Ind. The Buckeyes, defending national champions, are making their 15th-consecutive appearance at the NCAA Championships and their 16th appearance overall.

2014 CRCA Central All-Region First Team

Claire-Louise Bode

Victoria Lazur

Holly Norton

Catherine Shields

2014 CRCA Central All-Region Second Team

Ashley Bauer

2014 CRCA Scholar-Athletes

Name                Major

Sarah Asad       Public Health

Nicole Becks      Early Childhood Education

Lauren Eckles    Communications

Victoria Lazur     Public Affairs

Chloe Meyer      Neuroscience

Taylore Urban    Human Nutrition