June 10, 2014

COLUMBUS, Ohio – Five members of the No. 1 Ohio State rowing team have been named Pocock All-Americans, the Collegiate Rowing Coaches Association announced. Senior Claire-Louise Bode, junior Victoria Lazur and sophomores Holly Norton and Catherine Shields all earned first team honors, while junior Ashley Bauer earned second team honors.

All five Buckeyes were members of the First Varsity Eight throughout the 2014 season. The crew secured Ohio State its second-consecutive national title, finishing the season with a perfect record (12-0) after crossing the line first in 6:44.48 at the 2014 NCAA Championships, a boat length over second-place Brown (6:48.47) and third-place California (6:48.51). In doing so, the crew claimed its first ever individual national title and became the second-consecutive Ohio State crew to finish a season with a perfect record as the second varsity eight did so (12-0) in 2013.

The First Varsity Eight also clinched the second-consecutive and fifth Big Ten Championship overall for the Buckeyes, winning its second-consecutive individual conference title after sounding the horn in 6:29.37 to place over four seconds ahead of Michigan (6:34.21) and over eight seconds ahead of Indiana (6:38.05).

The award marks the second All-America laurel for Bode, as she was also named a First Team All-American last season. A Johannesburg, South Africa, native, Bode closes her Ohio State career as a three-time NCAA Champion, five-time Big Ten Champion, and two-time First Team All-Big Ten, CRCA First Team All-Central Region and CRCA Second Team All-Central Region honoree. In 2013, Bode was named the Big Ten Athlete of the Year, also becoming the first rower in program history to earn Ohio State Female Athlete of the Year recognition. She was presented with Academic All-Big Ten and Ohio State Scholar-Athlete accolades this spring.

Shields earns her first All-America honor this season. A native of Rangiora, New Zealand, Shields concludes her sophomore season as a four-time NCAA and Big Ten Champion as well as a First Team All-Big Ten and CRCA First Team All-Central Region honoree. The 2014 Big Ten Athlete of the Year and 2013 Big Ten Freshman of the Year, Shields became the first student-athlete to win Freshman and Athlete of the Year in consecutive years, joining Michigan State’s Anne Cowan (2005, 2008) and Laura Cowal (2008, 2011) as winners of both awards.

Lazur, Norton and Bauer also collect their first All-America accolades this year, with Lazur and Norton earning CRCA First Team All-Central Region honorees and Bauer collecting CRCA Second Team All-Region accolades. In addition, Norton and Bauer earned First Team All-Big Ten and Second Team All-Big Ten laurels, respectively. Academically, Lazur and Norton were presented with Academic All-Big Ten and Ohio State Scholar-Athlete accolades this spring. All three student-athletes are three-time NCAA Champions and four-time Big Ten Champions.



Claire-Louise Bode, The Ohio State University
Erin Boxberger, University of Notre Dame
Louise Breen, Brown University
Maddie Cordner, University of Washington
Anna Dawson, Stanford University
Mera Dickensheets, Indiana University
Jessica Eiffert, University of Michigan
Kirstyn Goodger, University of Washington
Angie Gould, Princeton University
Jenna Gregoire, Harvard University
Krisztina Gyimes, University of Southern California
Brandy Herald, University of Virginia
Paparangi Hipango, University of California, Berkeley
Kara Kohler, University of California, Berkeley
Victoria Lazur, The Ohio State University, coxswain
Daphne Martschenko, Stanford University
Holly Norton, The Ohio State University
Bryna Oleshansky, University of Michigan
Kelsey Reelick, Princeton University
Catherine Shields, The Ohio State University
Muriel Solberg, Brown University
Meaghan Volker, University of California, Los Angeles


Katherine Ashton, US Naval Academy
Ashley Bauer, The Ohio State University
Molly Bruggeman, University of Notre Dame
Michelle Campbell, University of San Diego
Maryann Concannon, Saint Mary’s College of California
Constanze Duell, University of Virginia
Morgan Dunham, University of Louisville
Amanda Elmore, University of Michigan
Rachel Gottlieb, Brown University
Morgan Grastorf, University of Iowa
Georgia Hamilton, Syracuse University
Nicole Hare, Washington State University
Milena Heuer, Clemson University
Aggie Nowinski, University of California, Berkeley
Anne Rauschert, University of Wisconsin
Faith Richardson, Princeton University
Kate Roach, Cornell University
Mary Sandza, Brown University, coxswain
Anna Taylor, Oregon State University
Claire Tolson, Yale University
Kristy Wentzel, Stanford University
Ruth Whyman, University of Washington