COLUMBUS, Ohio – No. 7 Ohio State leads Penn State and Northwestern, but trails the No. 7 team in the nation, Michigan, after the first of two days of competition in a quadrangular meet at the McCorkle Aquatic Pavilion. The meet will conclude Saturday starting at 12 noon. Admission is free.

Ohio State trails the Wolverines, 93-74, and holds leads of 137-30 and 136-30 over Penn State and Northwestern, respectively.

“Michigan is a great team,” Ohio State coach Bill Wadley said. “I think our team competed extremely well. We just need to find a way to put ourselves in position to win some of the close races.”

Michigan, the defending Big Ten Conference champion, opened the meet with a one-three finish in the 400 medley relay with the Ohio State team of Andrew Elliott, Elliott Keefer, Tim Phillips and Joel Elber taking second in 3:14.96. Elliott, a sophomore, led off with a split of 48.38 in the backstroke, touching two-tenths of a second ahead of 2009 Big Ten backstroke champ Alon Mandel of Michigan.

The second event of the evening was the 1,000 freestyle and it featured athletes with four of the top five times in the Big Ten this year – two Buckeyes and two Wolverines. UM senior Andre Schultz won the race with Buckeye seniors Mark Neiman and Stefan Sigrist second and third in personal best times this season of 9:10.10 and 9:13.17, respectively.

Defending Big Ten champ Dan Madwed kept Michigan’s streak of wins going with a win in the 200 freestyle with Ohio State’s Andrew Olson third and Tim Phillips sixth. The win increased the Wolverines lead to 40-15 after three events.

Joel Elber and Lincoln Fahrbach then went two-three in the 50 freestyle with UM senior Chris Brady taking first.

A strong showing by coach Vince Panzano’s diving squad during the one-meter springboard competition pulled Ohio State to within 15 points of Michigan at the first break. The senior trio of Ryan Jefferson, Wes Wieser and Burkley Showe took the top three places with Jefferson posting a 378.50 winning score.

The Buckeyes led Penn State, 78-15 and Northwestern, 76-16, at the first break.

The second half of Day 1 started with Elliott lined up in the lane next to 2009 NCAA champion Tyler Clary for the 200 backstroke. The Buckeye sophomore finished second to Clary, a senior, in a time of 1:46.29. Clary went 1:43.23.

Ohio State stopped the Wolverines’ run of wins when Keefer won the 200 breaststroke in a personal season’s best time of 1:59.00, besting Jared Miller of Michigan, third in the event at the 2009 Big Tens, in the process. Sam Pelkey, the 2009 Big Ten champ, was fourth.

Michigan assured itself of a lead over Ohio State with a Madwed-Clary one-two finish in the 200 butterfly with Ohio State freshman Luke Stirton third.

The final event of the evening, the 400 freestyle relay was won by Ohio State in an NCAA “B” cut time of 2:58.75. Ohio State’s team included Elber, Olson, Fahrbach and Tim Phillips, who came from behind to anchor the Buckeyes to the win.

“Great relays…both of them,” Wadley said. “We’ve never before gone below 3:15.00 in season in the 400 medley relay and we’ve never been below 3:00.00 in the 400 free relay.”

Men’s Swimming and Diving

Friday, Jan. 29, 2010

Columbus, Ohio

McCorkle Aquatic Pavilion

Day 1 Team Scores:

Michigan 93, Ohio State 74

Ohio State 136, Northwestern 30

Ohio State 137, Penn State 30

Ohio State Event Winners: 1-meter diving – Jefferson (378.50); 200 breaststroke – Keefer (1:59.00); 400 freestyle relay – Elber, Olson, Fahrbach, Phillips (2:58.75).