May 29, 2019

Fifteen Buckeyes Earn Academic All-Big Ten Honors


RELATED INFO: Follow the Buckeyes on FacebookTwitter and Instagram | 2019-20 Schedule

COLUMBUS, Ohio — The Ohio State University women’s ice hockey team continues to strive for excellence both on and off the ice, and their efforts in the classroom paid off with 15 members of the team earning Academic All-Big Ten honors, the conference announced on Wednesday.

To earn Academic All-Big Ten honors a student-athlete must qualify as a letter winner, be in their second year at an institution, and hold a grade-point-average of 3.0 or higher.

The team continues to top itself with 15 honorees this season, eclipsing the 13 Buckeyes from 2018, and the eight from 2017.

Seniors Lauren Boyle, Charly Dahlquist, Madison Field, Erin Langermeier and Jacyn Reeves all earned recognition. This is the third time Boyle has earned the honors, while Field, Langermeier and Reeves earned their second recognition. Due to her transferring prior to her junior year this was the first year Dahlquist was eligible.

The junior class of honorees includes Samantha Bouley, Jincy Dunne, Rebecca Freiburger, Elise Riemenschneider and Olivia Soares. Thanks to her redshirt season this is the third time Dunne has earned the honors, while this marks the second time the other four juniors have received Academic All-Big Ten honors.

A strong group of sophomores earned recognition in their first year of eligibility with Emma Maltais, Liz Schepers, Tatum Skaggs, Lynsey Wallace and Amanda Zeglen all making the cut.