COLUMBUS, Ohio – The field of competitors for the 2011 National Collegiate Men’s and Women’s Fencing Championships was revealed Tuesday afternoon. Ohio State received the maximum 12 bids for the event, which will be hosted by the Buckeyes at French Field House and St. John Arena March 24-27.

The Scarlet and Gray are joined by Notre Dame and Princeton as the only three programs to earn all 12 possible bids. The entire field of participants can be found at

Senior Oksana Dmytruk leads the Buckeye women in experience at the NCAA Championships. The veteran foilist has competed in the event each season of her college career, finishing no lower than seventh and finishing as high as second in 2008. She is joined in the foil category by Allison Henvick, who finished 10th in the NCAA tournament a year ago.

A pair of newcomers will compete for Ohio State in women’s epee. Katarzyna Dabrowa earned an automatic qualification with a first-place finish at the Midwest Regional, while classmate Caroline Piasecka earned an at-large bid following a fourth-place finish at the event.

Women’s sabre features a pair of NCAA tournament veterans. Alison Miller competed as a freshman last season, placing 16th at the tournament. Miller is joined by junior Margarita Tschomakova. Last season, Tschomakova took home bronze at the NCAA Championships, earning First Team All-America honors, following a ninth-place performance as a freshman.

Four of the six qualifiers on the men’s side are first-year performers at the NCAA Championships and three of the four are rookies on the Ohio State squad.

Marco Canevari and Igor Tolkachev make up the only veteran duo for Ohio State, with both competing in epee. Last year Canevari picked up nine victories on the way to a 19th-place finish while teammate Tolkachev scored Second Team All-America accolades following a sixth-place finish.

Freshmen Zain Shaito and Sam Hardwicke-Brown represent Ohio State in men’s foil, while Rhys Douglas and Michael Douville make up the men’s sabre tandem for the Buckeyes.

The National Collegiate Men’s and Women’s Fencing Championships include individual events in each of the six weapons (men’s foil, men’s epee, men’s sabre, women’s foil, women’s epee, women’s sabre).

Fencers will compete in a round-robin format of five-touch bouts. After the round-robin, the top-four fencers fence semifinal 15-touch bouts, with the winners fencing to determine first and second places, and the losers being awarded a tie for third place. Absolute ties for the seeding will be broken as follows: for positions one through three, by a coin toss; for position four, by a fence-off.

An institution’s place finish in the championships will be based on points earned by each individual. A team will be awarded one point for each victory by its student-athletes for the duration of the championships.

Men’s Epee
Marco Canevari
Igor Tolkachev

Men’s Foil
Sam Hardwicke-Brown
Zain Shaito

Men’s Sabre
Rhys Douglas
Michael Douville

Women’s Epee
Katarzyna Dabrowa
Caroline Piasecka

Women’s Foil
Oksana Dmytruk
Allison Henvick

Women’s Sabre
Alison Miller
Margarita Tschomakova