Nov. 7, 2006

Complete NCAA Tournament Bracket in PDF Format
Download Free Acrobat Reader

COLUMBUS, Ohio – The fifth-ranked Ohio State field hockey team will play in consecutive NCAA tournaments for the first time in program history as the Buckeyes received an at-large bid for the 2006 tournament, the NCAA selection committee announced Tuesday. This is OSU’s fourth overall appearance in the NCAA tournament.

Ohio State (14-3, 5-1 Big Ten) will travel to Durham, N.C., and face California (16-4, 6-0 NorPac) in the first round Nov. 11 at 2 p.m. The Buckeyes, the 2006 Big Ten Regular-Season Champions, were one of eight at-large selections while Cal, who won the NorPac tournament, received one of two play-in berths. Also competing in the Durham regional are No. 4-seed Duke and Colonial Athletic Association champ James Madison.

Ohio State is one of three Big Ten teams to make the 2006 field, along with Penn State and Iowa, the conference tournament champion.

Last season, the Buckeyes hosted the first and second rounds of the NCAA tournament at North Turf Field. Ohio State battled Old Dominion in the first round game, but fell by a final score of 5-4.

A total of 16 teams make the NCAA field hockey tournament. Six conferences earn automatic qualification, four conferences compete for two play-in berths and the eight other teams are at-large selections.

The first and second rounds of the 2006 NCAA Tournament take place at four campus sites Nov. 11-12. Wake Forest hosts the NCAA semifinals and final Nov. 17 and 19 at Kentner Stadium in Winston-Salem, N.C.