July 1, 2021

Field Hockey Places Four on Big Ten Distinguished Scholar List


COLUMBUS, Ohio – Four Ohio State field hockey players – Nikki Trzaska, Sammy Stone, Mackenzie Allessie and Mara Hunter – have earned Big Ten Distinguished Scholar honors for their exceptional work in the classroom during the 2020-21 academic year.

In order to qualify, student-athletes must have earned Academic All-Big Ten recognition in the previous academic year, must have been enrolled full time at the institution for the entire previous academic year and earned a GPA of 3.70 or better during the previous academic year, excluding any summer grades.

Trzaska, a team captain who helped the Buckeyes reach the Big Ten Tournament championship game this past spring, graduated in May with her degree in marketing. Her fellow captain was Stone, who graduated last August and is currently enrolled in Ohio State’s sports management master’s degree program. Stone was also one of 14 field hockey student-athletes conference-wide who had a 4.0 grade-point average last year.

All four of the Buckeyes’ honorees earned the distinction for the first time in their respective careers.

Ohio State Field Hockey 2020-21 Big Ten Distinguished Scholars
Mackenzie Allessie – Sophomore – Psychology
Mara Hunter – Senior – Public Management, Leadership & Policy
Sammy Stone – Graduate – Kinesiology
Nikki Trzaska – Senior – Marketing