Buckeyes face six teams that competed in the 2007 NCAA Tournament
COLUMBUS, Ohio The Ohio State field hockey team will face six teams that competed in the 2007 NCAA Tournament during its 2008 18-game regular season, head coach Anne Wilkinson announced Tuesday. The full Buckeye schedule includes seven home games and seven opponents who finished last season nationally ranked in the National Field Hockey Coaches Association poll.

The Buckeyes will open their 2008 season with a home game at North Turf Field against Kent State, Aug. 31. The team will then hits the road for six games, beginning with a matchup at NCAA participant and MAC champion Ohio University, Sept. 3. Ohio State will compete in the Blue Hen Classic, Sept. 6-7 in Newark, Del., where it faces Delaware, where Wilkinson was a two-time field hockey All-American, and Temple, the 2007 Atlantic 10 Champion.

Ohio State next travels to Louisville, site of the 2008 NCAA Tournament, Sept. 10, before facing Vermont and Maine, Sept. 13-14 in Burlington, Vt.

The Buckeyes host their second home game of the season Sept. 17 with a contest against Ball State, and follows with two games in Durham, N.C., against perennial powerhouse Duke and Appalachian State, Sept. 20-21.

The longest homestand for Ohio State will be a three-game span beginning Sept. 26 with the Big Ten opener against Michigan State. The Buckeyes then battle NCAA runner-up Penn State, Sept. 28, before facing Robert Morris in a nonconference matchup Oct. 1.

OSU travels to Ann Arbor to face defending Big Ten regular-season champ Michigan, Oct. 5, then heads to Bloomington to take on Indiana, Oct. 10. The Buckeyes will break from league play for a home game against Miami, Oct. 15, before playing at 2007 Big Ten Tournament Champion Iowa, Oct. 19. The final game of Ohio State’s 2008 regular season will be against Northwestern, Oct. 24.

Postseason play begins with the Big Ten tournament at Indiana, Nov. 6-9. The NCAA first and second rounds will be held at regional sites, Nov. 15-16, followed by the NCAA championship, Nov. 21-23 in Louisville, Ky.

2008 Ohio State Field Hockey Schedule

 Date  Opponent  Location    Time (Local)
 Aug. 31  KENT STATE  Columbus, Ohio  2 p.m.
 Sept. 3  vs. Ohio University  Athens, Ohio  3 p.m.
 Sept. 6  at Delaware (Blue Hen Classic)  Newark, Del.  11:30 a.m.
 Sept. 7  vs. Temple (Blue Hen Classic)  Newark, Del.  11:30 a.m.
 Sept. 10  at Louisville  Louisville, Ky.  3 p.m.
 Sept. 13  at Vermont  Burlington, Vt.  11 a.m.
 Sept. 14  vs. Maine  Burlington, Vt.  Noon
 Sept. 17  BALL STATE  Columbus, Ohio  3 p.m.
 Sept. 20  at Duke  Durham, N.C.  1 p.m.
 Sept. 21  vs. Appalachian State  Durham, N.C.  3 p.m.
 Sept. 26  MICHIGAN STATE  Columbus, Ohio  3 p.m.
 Sept. 28  PENN STATE  Columbus, Ohio  1 p.m.
 Oct. 1   ROBERT MORRIS  Columbus, Ohio  3 p.m.
 Oct. 5  at Michigan  Ann Arbor, Mich.  1 p.m.
 Oct. 10  at Indiana  Bloomington, Ind.  3 p.m.
 Oct. 15  MIAMI (OHIO)  Columbus, Ohio  3 p.m.
 Oct. 19  at Iowa  Iowa City, Iowa  Noon
 Oct. 24  NORTHWESTERN  Columbus, Ohio  3 p.m.
 Nov. 6  Big Ten Tournament  Bloomington, Ind.  TBA
 Nov. 7  Big Ten Tournament  Bloomington, Ind.  TBA
 Nov. 9  Big Ten Tournament  Bloomington, Ind.  TBA
 Nov. 15  NCAA First Round  TBA  TBA
 Nov. 16  NCAA Second Round  TBA  TBA
 Nov. 21  NCAA Semifinals  Louisville, Ky.  TBA
 Nov. 23  NCAA Championship  Louisville, Ky.  TBA