Aug. 8, 2006

MEXICO CITY, Mexico – With the withdrawal of Costa Rica and Jamaica, the 2006 FIBA Americas U20 Championship for Women will now be disputed in a round-robin format with the top three teams, based on records, qualifying for the 2007 FIBA U21 Women’s World Championship, which will be played July 27-Aug. 5 in Guatemala City, Guatemala.

The 2006 FIBA Americas U20 Championship for Women will feature competition between six teams, Bahamas, Brazil, Canada, Mexico, Puerto Rico and the USA, Aug. 8-12 in Mexico City, Mexico.

The USA Women’s U20 National Team will kick off tournament play at 2:00 p.m. (all times are local time, CDT) on Aug. 8 versus Puerto Rico, followed by Brazil and Canada at 4:00 p.m., and Mexico takes on the Bahamas at 6:00 p.m.

On Wednesday, Aug. 9, the action features the USA versus Canada at 2:00 p.m., Bahamas faces Brazil at 4:00 p.m. and Puerto Rico meets Mexico at 6:00 p.m. Thursday begins with Canada and Bahamas clashing at 2:00 p.m., followed by Brazil versus Puerto Rico at 4:00 p.m., and the USA against Mexico at 6:00 p.m.

Friday, Aug. 11 features the USA against Bahamas at 2:00 p.m., Puerto Rico against Canada at 4:00 p.m. and Mexico versus Brazil at 6:00 p.m. Aug. 12, the final day of the tournament, pits the Bahamas against Puerto Rico at 2:00 p.m., the USA against Brazil at 4:00 p.m. and Canada faces Mexico at 6:00 p.m.

Michigan State University and USA Basketball U20 National Team head coach Joanne P. McCallie is being assisted by the University of California’s Joanne Boyle and Furman University’s (S.C.) Sam Dixon.

The 12-member USA U20 National Team is comprised of: Jolene Anderson (Wisconsin / Port Wing, Wis.); DeWanna Bonner (Auburn / Fairfield, Ala.); Essence Carson (Rutgers / Paterson, N.J.); Devanei Hampton (California / Oakland, Calif.); Erlana Larkins (North Carolina / Riviera Beach, Fla.); Victoria Lucas-Perry (Michigan State / Flint, Mich.); Renee Montgomery (Connecticut / St. Albans, W.Va..); Marscilla Packer (Ohio State / Pickerington, Ohio); Courtney Paris (Oklahoma / Piedmont, Calif.); Kia Vaughn (Rutgers / Bronx, N.Y.); Erica White (Louisiana State / Jacksonville, Fla.); and Lindsay Wisdom-Hylton (Purdue / Naperville, Ill.).

Originally known as the FIBA Americas World Championship For Young Women Qualifying Tournament, the event was first held four years ago in 2002 as the U.S. earned the gold medal to qualify for the 2003 FIBA World Championship For Young Women. FIBA recently made the name change to reflect the age of eligible athletes (U20 for the qualifier and U21 for the World Championship). The USA not only captured the gold at the inaugural event in 2002, held in Ribeirao Preto, Brazil, it swept all four games and outscored the competition a whopping 50.3 points per game. Brazil finished with the silver and Argentina claimed the bronze as all three teams qualified for the 2003 U21 Worlds.