Fifth-seeded Buckeyes force overtime on Linda Haussener’s 20th goal of season
COLUMBUS, Ohio Making its first appearance in the championship game since 2001, the fifth-seeded Ohio State field hockey team battled No. 2-seed Iowa into overtime, but fell by a score of 2-1 Sunday in the 2008 Big Ten Tournament title game in Bloomington, Ind.

Trailing 1-0 in the second half, Ohio State senior co-captain Linda Haussener scored her 20th goal of the season to tie the game and send it into overtime.

The teams played up and down the field in the extra session, but Lauren Pfeiffer of the Hawkeyes took advantage of a penalty corner to score the gamewinner at 79:09 for Iowa’s third-consecutive Big Ten tournament championship.

Haussener capitalized on a penalty corner for her goal in the second half. The co-captain from Baden, Switzerland, dribbled in the ball and lifted it into the cage at 47:42.

Pfeiffer gave Iowa (17-4, 4-2 Big Ten) a 1-0 lead in the first half when she converted on a penalty stroke at 15:42. It was the first penalty stroke against Ohio State (14-7, 3-3 Big Ten) this season.

Making her seventh-consecutive start, freshman goalkeeper Ally Tunitis made a season-high six saves, including four in the second half. The loss was the first for the Macungie, Pa., native, to move to 6-1.

Following the tournament, Haussener and Aisling Coyle, a redshirt-freshman from Renfrewshire, Scotland, were named to the All-Tournament Team.

The 17th-ranked Buckeyes next await the announcement of the 2008 NCAA Tournament field at 8 p.m. Tuesday. The selection show will be streamed live online on