Linda Haussener earns Team MVP award, shares Offensive MVP honors with Emily Mikac

COLUMBUS, Ohio The Ohio State field hockey team celebrated its 2008 season at its annual banquet last Saturday at the Jack Nicklaus Museum. Along with handing out the team awards, the Buckeyes celebrated their 14-7 record and run to the Big Ten championship game.

Linda Haussener, a senior from Baden, Switzerland, earned both the overall MVP and Co-Offensive MVP awards. She led the Buckeyes with 52 points (20g, 12a) and received her third All-America award as well as Big Ten Co-Offensive Player of the Year honors. Fellow senior Emily Mikac, from Upper Arlington, Ohio, shared the Offensive MVP award with 23 points (10g, 3a) and a Second Team All-Big Ten selection.

Junior Rachel Hunter picked up the Defensive MVP award. The defender from Ocean City, N.J., started all 21 games and anchored the Buckeye backfield that limited opponents an average of just 1.24 goals and 7.3 shots per game. She also scored twice and added two assists for six points.

Rookie of the Year was awarded to Jenn Sciulli. The back from Palmyra, Pa., started all 21 games of her freshman season and tallied 12 points (4g, 4a). Two of her goals were gamewinners in double-overtime. She also played a key role in Ohio State’s strong backfield and had two defensive saves.

Junior goalkeeper Lindsay Quintiliani received two honors the Buckeye Spirit award and Harriet Reynolds Scholar-Athlete award. The Mountain Top, Pa., native is a three-time NFHCA National Academic Squad member and two-time Academic All-Big Ten selection as a speech and hearing science major. The Buckeye Spirit award is given to the team member who demonstrates the highest level of dedication, commitment and leadership, embodying what it means to represent the Scarlet and Gray.