Senior forward Emily Mikac becomes third Buckeye to be recognized four times
COLUMBUS, Ohio Thirteen members of the Ohio State field hockey team were named to the NFHCA National Academic Squad, the National Field Hockey Coaches Association announced Monday. The 13 selections were the most Ohio State has received since the inception of the National Academic Squad in 1989.

The Buckeyes were led by senior forward Emily Mikac, who was named to the team for the fourth time in her career. A communication major from Upper Arlington, Ohio, Mikac is just the third Buckeye to earn the award four times. She joins Renee Rossi (2002-05) and Lindsay Williams (2002-05). Mikac, a co-captain for the 2008 season, also is a three-time Academic All-Big Ten honoree and three-time OSU Scholar-Athlete.

Fellow senior forward and team co-captain Linda Haussener earned the award for the third time. Haussener, a double-major in political science and economics from Baden, Switzerland, also is a three-time Academic All-Big Ten and OSU Scholar-Athlete honoree.

Joining Mikac and Haussener on the NFHCA National Academic Squad were the following:

Alicia Anzivine (So., F/M, international studies)
Melissa Hunter (So., F, speech and hearing science)
Rachel Hunter (Jr., B, special education)
Sheila Hunter (Fr., M, education)
Jen Martin (Sr., F, English)
Aisling McKeon (So., M, marketing)
Caitlin Moore (Fr., M, physical education)
Melissa Palm (Jr., M/B, exercise science)
Emily Pope (Fr., B, hospitality management)
Lindsay Quintiliani (Jr., G, speech and hearing science)
Jenn Sciulli (Fr., B, pharmaceutical science)

The National Academic Squad recognizes student-athletes who have achieved a cumulative GPA of 3.30 or higher through the first semester of the 2008-09 academic year.