COLUMBUS, Ohio When the NCAA fencing national championships come to French Field House next weekend on the Ohio State campus, the Buckeyes will enter the field with 12 competitors, the most allowed by one team.

With a No. 1-ranked women’s team and a No. 2-ranked men’s team, Ohio State qualified 11 fencers automatically last Sunday at the NCAA Midwest Regional in Detroit and a 12th and final qualifier has received an at-large invitation.

The national championships, which the Buckeyes won in 2004, begin Thursday and conclude Sunday afternoon. Preliminary and semifinal bouts will be fenced in French Field House, with gold medal bouts moving to adjacent St. John Arena.

Ohio State took home five first place finishes Sunday as Andras Horanyi successfully defended his foil title, Sergey Smirnov took the gold in men’s sabre, Oksana Dmytruk won gold in women’s foil, Aleksandra Obrazcova was the winner of women’s epee and Siobhan Byrne defended her sabre crown.

The criteria for selection to the NCAA Championships are based on 40 percent from regional power rankings and 60 percent by regional finish.

Horanyi is the defending national champion in men’s foil. Of note, 10 of the 12 OSU fencers have national championship experience, including all but newcomers Ben Parkins and Dmytruk.

Four programs have qualified the maximum 12 fencers for the championships, including Ohio State, Notre Dame, Columbia-Barnard and St. John’s.

Ohio State Top 10 Finishes at the 2008 NCAA Midwest Regional Qualifier
Names in bold advance to national championships.
Men’s Foil
1. Andras Horanyi
4. Ben Parkins
7. Colin Sutter
9. Joe Doherty
Men’s Sabre
1. Sergey Smirnov
2. Dexter Wilde
6. Mikhail Momtselidze
9. Robert Douville
Men’s Epee
5. Sean Harder
6. Jason Pryor
8. Bishara Korkor
9. Mykhaylo Mazur
Women’s Foil
1. Oksana Dmytruk
5. Lindsay Knauer
7. Julia Tikhonova
Women’s Epee
1. Aleksandra Obrazcova
6. Leslie Lampman
9. Kaela Brendler
12. Elyse Gurnowski
Women’s Sabre
1. Siobhan Byrne
2. Eileen Grench
6. Falencia Miller

### ###