March 22, 2021

Fencing Claims CCFC Championships


CCFC Standings and Results

COLUMBUS, Ohio – In the inaugural year of the Central Collegiate Fencing Conference, Ohio State claimed three outright championships and shared four titles.

The Buckeye men won the men’s team championship and the women shared the women’s team title with Northwestern. Buckeye men’s sabre and women’s epee won squad titles, while men’s epee, men’s foil and women’s sabre were co-champions.

The CCFC included Cleveland State University, Denison University, Lawrence University, Northwestern University, Ohio State University and Wayne State University.

Because of the pandemic-altered schedules during the 2021 season, the conference champion was determined by winning percentage during the regular season against conference opponents. To be eligible for championship consideration, an institution must have participated against at least 50 percent of the participating conference institutions. Only a maximum of two matches per opponent could be counted toward winning percentage.

In CCFC-countable competition, the Ohio State men were 4-0 as a team and in epee, foil and sabre. The women were 7-1 overall, with epee 8-0, sabre 7-1 and foil 6-2. Included in the men’s team were two victories over both Lawrence and Cleveland State and the women notched two wins over Denison, Lawrence and Cleveland State and split with Northwestern.

Overall in 2021 Ohio State’s women were 15-7 and the men posted a 14-3 record.

Julieta Toledo led the Buckeye sabre squad with a 31-5 record, with Evie Bustamante second with 25 wins. In foil Camilla Rivano was a squad-best 44-29. Grace Seal was second with 34 wins. In epee Monserrat Viveros led the Buckeyes with a 43-27 mark and Alexanne Verret was second with a 37-27 ledger.

For the men, 10 Buckeyes competed in sabre. Nolan Williams was first with 17 wins, followed by Jack Price with 15, Benjamin Levitt with 13 and Stephen Chou and Matthew Hayes with 12 each. In foil Diego Cervantes was a squad-best 23-8 and Nathan Wriedt had 20 wins, with Edriss Ndiaye posting 14. Henry Lange led the epee squad with 26 wins and Kaiden Crotchett (13), Bence Bende (12) and Matthew Comes (10) all had double-digit victories.

Ohio State Buckeyes