May 13, 2020

Fencers Named Ohio State Scholar-Athletes


For 2019-20, 33 members of the Buckeye fencing program have earned Ohio State Scholar-Athlete honors.

Among the honorees, Leon Cao, John Culpepper, Frank Ditullio, Natalia Falkowski Domenik Koch and Sarah Merza are all now four-time honorees and Emma von Dadelszen earned her fifth award.

2020 Ohio State Scholar-Athletes

Shanvanth Arnipalli (So., New Albany, Ohio)
Bence Bende (Fr., Gyöngyösfalu, Hungary)
Leon Cao (Sr., West Chester, Ohio)
Gabriela Cecchini (Sr., Porto Alegre, Brazil)
Stephen Chou (Fr., Upper Saddle River, N.J.)
Chris Collado (So., Commack, N.Y.)
Matthew Comes (Jr., Bothell, Wash.)
John Culpepper (Sr., Bentonville, Ark.)
Lauryn DeLuca (So., Parma, Ohio)
Frank Ditullio (Sr., Bexley, Ohio)
Ethan Edwards (Jr., Orfordville, Wis.)
Natalia Falkowski (Sr., Wappingers Falls, N.Y.)
Nicole Fisher (Jr., Columbus, Ohio)
James Flanagan (Fr., Pleasantville, N.Y.)
William Gaziano (Jr., Basking Ridge, N.J.)
Ariel Gluck (So., Dublin, Ohio)
Matthew Hayes (Jr., Dublin, Ohio)
Domenik Koch (Sr., Dormagen, Germany)
Aleksandra Kolmykova (Sr., St. Petersburg, Russia)
Henry Lange (So., Beaverton, Ore.)
Alexa Laskaris (Sr., Park Ridge, Ill.)
Benjamin Levitt (Fr., Livingston, N.J.)
Sarah Merza (Sr., Wayne, N.J.)
Stephanie Miller (So., Commack, N.Y.)
Camilla Rivano (Jr., Rapallo, Italy)
Emma Montgomery (Sr., Lewis Center, Ohio)
Jadon Montgomery (Fr., Lewis Center, Ohio)
Hudson Santana (So., Bronx, N.Y.)
Nicola Sirito (Sr., Pearland, Texas)
Liam Smith (Sr., Wilton, Conn.)
Roscoe Swartz (So., Ridgewood, N.J.)
Jessica Thow (So., Spring, Texas)
Emma von Dadelszen (5th year, Vancouver, B.C.)

The 33 fencers are part of 647 Ohio State Scholar-Athletes recognized this year.

Not only was the fencing program outstanding in the classroom, it was outstanding competitively. The squad swept the Midwest Fencing Conference championships, winning the men’s and women’s titles and all six weapon crowns, and had the maximum 12 fencers earn spots in the (canceled) NCAA Championships.