June 2, 2022

Fencers Earn Academic All-Big Ten Laurels


This week, 28 members of the Ohio State fencing program were named to the Academic All-Big Ten Team.

To be eligible for Academic All-Big Ten selection, student-athletes must be on a varsity team, as verified by being on the official squad list, who have been enrolled full-time at the institution for a minimum of 12 months and carry a cumulative grade-point average of 3.0 or higher.

Matthew Comes, a mathematics and mechanical engineering major, earned his fourth career honor.

Nine Buckeyes are now three-time honorees: Chris Collado (political science), Lauryn DeLuca (child and youth studies), Ariel Gluck (materials science and engineering), Henry Lange (linguistics), Steph Miller (journalism), Emma Montgomery (pharmaceutical sciences PhD), Camilla Rivano (consumer sciences), Roscoe Swartz (neuroscience) and Nathan Wriedt (materials science and engineering).

Shanvanth Arnipalli (environmental science), Bence Bende (biology), Stephen Chou (computer science and engineering), James Flanagan (economics), Will Gaziano (accounting), Jadon Montgomery (marketing), Kristen Ruscitelli (evolution and ecology) and Montserrat Viveros (marketing) are now two-time selections.

The Buckeyes’ first year honorees are Jacob Gordon (aviation), Mika Guillen (finance), Vincent Haney (neuroscience), Clark Kokenge (political science), Edriss Ndiaye (business undecided), Jack Price (information systems), Max Rodney (journalism), Zoe Shay-Tannas (industrial design), Jewelia Smith (materials science and engineering) and Julieta Toledo (film studies).

Ohio State Buckeyes