July 10, 2019

Buckeyes Earn B1G Distinguished Scholar Honors


Nine members of the Ohio State fencing program have earned Big Ten Distinguished Scholar accolades, the conference announced Tuesday. The fencers are among a league-best 131 Buckeyes to earn the honor.

Ahmed Al-Tayeb (Sr., pharmaceutical sciences), Gabriela Cecchini (So., world literatures), Ethan Edwards (So., political science), Natalia Falkowski (Jr., finance and international business), Domenik Koch (Jr., finance), Aleksandra Kolmykova (Jr., finance), Gabriella Leccese (Sr., history), Benjamin Marcus (So., history) and Liam Smith (Jr., industrial design) were all recognized. Edwards, Marcus and Kolmykova all posted perfect 4.0 gpas in 2018-19.

Big Ten Faculty Representatives established the Distinguished Scholar Award in 2008 to supplement the Academic All-Big Ten program. Distinguished Scholar Award recipients must have earned Academic All-Big Ten recognition in the previous academic year, must have been enrolled full time at the institution for the entire previous academic year (two semesters or three quarters) and earned a minimum GPA of 3.70 or better during the previous academic year, excluding any summer grades. The Academic All-Big Ten threshold is a cumulative GPA of 3.0 or higher for a student’s academic career.