• Send Chris Spielman congrats on his induction into the college football hall of fame
  • Read congrats notes submitted by fans
  • Who is the best Ohio State linebacker all-time? Share your thoughts

NEW YORK – Heisman Trophy winners Tim Brown and Gino Torretta, along with two-time All-American Chris Spielman, are among the 16 players to be elected to the College Football Hall of Fame.

Others selected for induction by the National Football Foundation are: Penn State’s Curt Warner; New Mexico State’s Pervis Atkins; Arizona’s Chuck Cecil; Auburn’s Ed Dyas; West Virginia’s Major Harris; BYU’s Gordon Hudson; Alabama’s Woodrow Lowe; Stanford’s Ken Margerum; Texas’ Steve McMichael; Iowa’s Larry Station; Georgia Tech’s Pat Swilling; and Nebraska’s Grant Wistrom.

The NFF’s veteran’s committee selected Williams Lewis, who played center for Harvard from 1892-93.

Coaches John Robinson of USC and Dick MacPherson of Syracuse will also be inducted in December.


PERVIS ATKINS – HB, New Mexico State (1958-60)
TIM BROWN – WR, Notre Dame (1984-87)
CHUCK CECIL – DB, Arizona (1984-87)
ED DYAS – FB, Auburn (1958-60)
MAJOR HARRIS – QB, West Virginia (1987-89)
GORDON HUDSON – TE, Brigham Young (1980- 83)
WILLIAM LEWIS* – C, Harvard (1892-93)
WOODROW LOWE – LB, Alabama (1972-75)
KEN MARGERUM – WR, Stanford (1977-80)
STEVE McMICHAEL – DT, Texas (1976-79)
CHRIS SPIELMAN – LB, Ohio State (1984-87)
LARRY STATION – LB, Iowa (1982-85)
PAT SWILLING – DE, Georgia Tech (1982-85)
GINO TORRETTA – QB, Miami (Fla.) (1989-92)
CURT WARNER – RB, Penn State (1979-82)
GRANT WISTROM – DE, Nebraska (1994-97)
* Selection from the FBS Veterans Committee, deceased

DICK MacPHERSON – 111-73-5 (.601) – Massachusetts (1971-77), Syracuse (1981-90)
JOHN ROBINSON – 132-77-4 (.629) – Southern California (1976-82, 1993-97), Nevada-Las Vegas (1999-2004)

Ohio State University
Linebacker, 1984-87

The 1987 Lombardi Award winner, Chris Spielman earned back-to-back First Team All-America honors (unanimous in 1987 and consensus in 1986) en route to leading Ohio State to three consecutive bowl games and establishing himself as one of the all-time greats in a storied Buckeye program.

A three-time First Team All-Big Ten selection, Spielman was named the top defensive player in the 1987 Cotton Bowl. He was also a member of two Big Ten championship teams (1984, ’86). He twice led the Buckeyes in tackles and graduated as the school’s all- time leader in solo tackles (283). Spielman finished his prolific defensive career at OSU with 546 tackles, eight sacks and 11 interceptions.

After graduating in 1988, Spielman was drafted by Detroit in the second round of the NFL Draft, playing with the franchise for eight seasons and becoming the first Lion ever to register 1,000 career tackles. He spent two seasons with the Buffalo Bills and was named to the Pro Bowl six times.

Spielman currently works as an ESPN college football color commentator and with several local sports talk radio shows in Columbus, Ohio. He also is a visible participant for increasing resources for breast cancer research.