Columbus, Ohio Quarterback Terrelle Pryor and All-American linebacker James Laurinaitis were named today as Sporting News magazine’s respective Freshman of the Year and Defensive Most Valuable Player in the Big Ten Conference. The magazine’s roundup of honorees named outstanding players and coaches in 11 conferences.

Taking over as Ohio State’s starting quarterback in Week 4 this season, Pryor led the Buckeyes to an 8-1 record as a starter and was named the Big Ten Freshman of the Year. The Jeannette, Pa., native passed for 1,245 yards and 12 touchdowns and rushed for an additional 553 yards and six scores this season. 

Laurinaitis repeated as Big Ten Defender of the Year this season and also was named a consensus All-American for the second consecutive year. This Sunday he was selected as the winner of the Lott Trophy as college football’s impact player of the year. Laurinaitis, from Hamel, Minn., was also a finalist this season for the Lombardi, Bednarik, Walter Camp Player of the Year and Lowes Senior CLASS awards, respectively. He ranks seventh at Ohio State with 366 career tackles.

The Sporting News will announce its all-freshman team Tuesday and its All-America teams (first and second) Wednesday.

The Sporting News’ 2008 Conference Award Winners

Offensive MVP: Jonathan Dwyer, RB, Georgia Tech
Defensive MVP: Victor Harris, CB, Virginia Tech
Coach of the year: Paul Johnson, Georgia Tech
Freshman of the year: Russell Wilson, QB, N.C. State

Offensive MVP: LeSean McCoy, RB, Pitt
Defensive MVP: Scott McKillop, LB , Pitt
Coach of the year: Brian Kelly, Cincinnati
Freshman of the year: Victor Anderson, RB, Louisville

Offensive MVP: Shonn Greene, RB, Iowa
Defensive MVP: James Laurinaitis, LB, Ohio State
Coach of the year: Joe Paterno, Penn State
Freshman of the year: Terrelle Pryor, QB, Ohio State

BIG 12
Offensive MVP:  Sam Bradford, QB, Oklahoma
Defensive MVP: Brian Orakpo, DE, Texas
Coach of the year: Mike Leach, Texas Tech
Freshman of the year: Robert Griffin, QB, Baylor

Offensive MVP: David Johnson, QB, Tulsa
Defensive MVP: C.J. Wilson, DE, East Carolina
Coach of the year: Skip Holtz, East Carolina
Freshman of the year: DeAndre Brown, WR, Southern Miss

Offensive MVP: Nate Davis, QB, Ball State
Defensive MVP: Larry English, DE, Northern Illinois
Coach of the year: Turner Gill, Buffalo
Freshman of the year: Morgan Williams, RB, Toledo

Offensive MVP: Brian Johnson, QB, Utah
Defensive MVP: Jerry Hughes, DE, TCU
Coach of the year: Kyle Whittingham, Utah
Freshman of the year: Tim Jefferson, QB, Air Force

Offensive MVP: Jacquizz Rodgers, RB, Oregon State
Defensive MVP: Rey Maualuga, LB, USC
Coach of the year: Mike Bellotti, Oregon
Freshman of the year: Jacquizz Rodgers, RB, Oregon State

Offensive MVP: Tim Tebow, QB, Florida
Defensive MVP: Brandon Spikes, LB, Florida
Coach of the year: Nick Saban, Alabama
Freshman of the year: Julio Jones, WR, Alabama

Offensive MVP: Michael Desormeaux, QB, Louisiana-Lafayette
Defensive MVP: Brandon Lang, DE, Troy
Coach of the year: Mario Cristobal, Florida International
Freshman of the year: T.Y. Hilton, WR, Florida International

Offensive MVP: Vai Taua, RB, Nevada
Defensive MVP: Jarron Gilbert, DT, San Jose State
Coach of the year: Chris Petersen, Boise State
Freshman of the year: Kellen Moore, QB, Boise State