LAKE BUENA VISTA, Fla. (November 24, 2008) Finalists for The Home Depot ESPNU College Football Awards — live on ESPN, Thursday, Dec. 11, from 7:30-9:30 p.m. ET have been announced.  Quarterbacks Sam Bradford of Oklahoma, Graham Harrell of Texas Tech, Colt McCoy of Texas and Tim Tebow of Florida highlight the list of contending outstanding student-athletes.  The show, hosted by ESPN’s Chris Fowler, Lee Corso and Kirk Herbstreit, will originate from the Atlantic Dance Hall at Disney’s Boardwalk at the Walt Disney World Resort.


The Home Depot ESPNU College Football Awards Red Carpet Show, hosted by ESPNU’s Lowell Galindo and Tom Luginbill with Mike Gleason and Melissa Knowles reporting, will air on ESPNU from 6:30-7:30 p.m. and following the show at 9:30 p.m. 


The Home Depot ESPNUCollege Football Awards features the live presentation of nine awards, along with the recipients of Disney’s Spirit Award; The Home Depot Coach of the Year Award, the NCFAA (National College Football Awards Association) Contributions to College Football Award; and student-athletes selected to the Walter Camp All-America Team.


New this year is a Web site dedicated to the show:  The site features the latest college football awards news, including show details, previous winners, fan voting, a photo gallery and video highlights.  


                  The NCFAA Contributions to College Football Award will be presented to Florida State University coach Bobby Bowden, who is in his 33rd season with the Seminoles.  Bowden, who was inducted into the College Football Hall of Fame in 2006, has 381 career victories, making him the second all-time winningest Football Bowl Subdivision (formerly Division I) coach.




Chuck Bednarik Award (best defensive player)

James Laurinaitis, Ohio State

Ray Maualuga, USC

Aaron Maybin, Penn State

Biletnikoff Award (best receiver)

Dez Bryant, Oklahoma State

*Michael Crabtree, Texas Tech

Jeremy Maclin, Missouri



Lou Groza Award (best kicker)

Josh Arauco, Arkansas State

Graham Gano, Florida State

Louie Sakoda, Utah

Ray Guy Award (best punter)

Matt Fodge, Oklahoma State

Pat McAfee, West Virginia

Louie Sakoda, Utah


Maxwell Award (best all-around player) 

Graham Harrell, Texas Tech

Colt McCoy, Texas

*Tim Tebow, Florida

Davey O’Brien Award (best quarterback)

Sam Bradford, Oklahoma

Graham Harrell, Texas Tech

Colt McCoy, Texas



Outland Trophy (best interior lineman)

Michael Oher, Ole Miss

Duke Robinson, Oklahoma

Andre Smith, Alabama

Jim Thorpe Award (best defensive back)

Eric Berry, Tennessee

Malcolm Jenkins, Ohio State

Taylor Mays, USC



Doak Walker Award (best running back)

Shonn Greene, Iowa

Knowshon Moreno, Georgia

Javon Ringer, Michigan State




*2007 award winner


National College Football Awards Association (NCFAA)

The NCFAA was founded in 1997 as a coalition of the major collegiate football awards to protect, preserve and enhance the integrity, influence and prestige of the game’s predominant awards. The NCFAA encourages professionalism and the highest standards for the administration of its member awards and the selection of their candidates and recipients. For more information, visit the association’s official Web site, at