COLUMBUS, Ohio Ohio State running back Chris “Beanie” Wells was voted 2008 team Most Valuable Player as announced at the Football Appreciation Banquet Sunday afternoon.

Wells also received the Archie Griffin Award as outstanding offensive player, the W.W. Hayes Award as outstanding player in the Michigan game and the Rex Kern Award as the outstanding offensive back. Linebacker James Laurinaitis and cornerback Malcolm Jenkins shared the Bill Willis Award as the outstanding defensive player.

Other award winners: Ryan Lukens (John Galbreath, academics); Terrelle Pryor (first-year offensive player); Nathan Williams first-year defensive player); Shaun Lane (Ike Kelley, special teams standout); James Laurinaitis (Randy Gradishar, linebacker); Brian Robiskie (Paul Warfield, receiver); Malcolm Jenkins and Kurt Coleman (Arnie Chonko, defensive back);

Tyson Gentry (Bo Rein, most inspirational); Alex Boone (Jim Parker, offensive lineman); Kurt Coleman (SAE, Homecoming game standout); Thaddeus Gibson (Agonis Rick Meyer, Penn State game standout); Rory Nicol (Jim Marshall Warrior); Nader Abdallah (Jack Stephenson, defensive lineman).