Share

Feb. 25, 2015

COLUMBUS, Ohio – Following the opening night of competition at the 2015 Big Ten Championships, the eighth-ranked Ohio State men’s swimming and diving team stands second with 64 points earned. The Buckeyes had a strong start, qualifying both relays contested for the upcoming NCAA championship meet.

Michigan claimed first in both events to take an overall lead with 80 points. Along with the runner-up Buckeyes, conference foes Indiana, Minnesota and Wisconsin round out the Top 5 in the team standings.

Ohio State’s 200 medley relay quartet of senior Steven Zimmerman, junior DJ MacDonald, sophomore Matt McHugh and junior Josh Fleagle kick started the evening with a second-place touch. Earning an automatic qualification to the NCAA championships, the contingent registered a time of 1:25.18.

Fleagle, a standout swimmer for the Scarlet and Gray, pulled double duty, also competing in the 800 freestyle relay. Grouped with teammates Ching Hwang Lim, Brayden Seal and Rowan Williams, Fleagle and the Buckeyes placed fourth with an NCAA `A’ cut time of 6:22.65.

The championships will resume Thursday with prelims scheduled for 11 a.m. CT/12 p.m. ET and finals commencing at 6:30 p.m. CT/7:30 p.m. ET.

Big Ten Men’s Swimming and Diving Championships
Wednesday, Feb. 25, 2015
Columbus, Ohio
McCorkle Aquatic Pavilion

Team Scores: 1. Michigan (80); 2. Ohio State (64), 3. Indiana (58); 3. Minnesota (58); 5. Wisconsin (56); 6. Northwestern (54); 7. Iowa (50); 8. Purdue (48); 9. Michigan State (32); 10. Penn State (22).

Race Results: 200 Medley Relay -1. Michigan (1:23.47), 2. Zimmerman, MacDonald, McHugh, Fleagle – OSU (1:25.18); 800 Free Relay – 1. Michigan (6:12.20), 4. Lim, Fleagle, Seal, Williams – OSU (6:22.65).