July 1, 2020

Eight Women’s Gymnasts Earn Big Ten Distinguished Scholar Honors


COLUMBUS, Ohio – Eight members of the women’s gymnastics team earned Big Ten Distinguished Scholar honors for the 2019-20 academic year, the conference office announced today. To be eligible, a student-athlete must maintain a 3.70 or better grade-point average for the academic year.

The Buckeye honorees were:

  • Nevin Adamski, a senior health sciences major from Virginia Beach, Va.
  • Olivia Aepli, a senior marketing major from Dublin, Ohio
  • Claire Gagliardi, a sophomore psychology major from Hubbard, Ohio
  • Kaitlyn Gilson, a sophomore communications major from Hudson, Wisc.
  • Morgan Lowe, a junior exercise science education major from Dallas, Texas
  • Colby Miller, a sophomore accounting major from Mason, Ohio
  • Miriam Perez, a sophomore communications major from Los Angeles, Calif.
  • Kali Schierl, a sophomore human nutrition major from Stevens Point, Wisc.

Ohio State led all conference schools with a total of 164 distinguished scholars. Adamski and Gagliardi were two of 26 Buckeye student-athletes who had a 4.0 grade-point average for the year.