Photo Gallery

Day One Results

Feb. 23, 2013

COLUMBUS, Ohio – Abie Ehimwenman‘s bronze medal in the long jump highlighted the first day of competition at the 2013 Big Ten Indoor Championships for the Ohio State women’s track and field team.

Ehimwenman cleared 5.93m (19-5.50) to pick up six of the nine team points on the day for the Buckeyes. The Distance Medley relay earned the other three points with a sixth-place finish. As a team, Ohio State sits in 10th place through six events at the end of day one.

In preliminary action, multiple Buckeyes qualified for championship events. Highlights included a new school record in the 800m by Katie Borchers (2:07.05), three qualifiers in both the 60m and 60m hurdles, and an impressive personal-best time in the 600m from Janel Olberding (1:30.86).

“Today was a good day from the standpoint that we qualified people in events we needed to,” Karen Dennis, head coach for Ohio State, said after the meet. “We had three athletes make the finals in both the 60 and 60 hurdles and earned important spots in the 200m, 400m, 600m and 800m. In addition, the DMR really improved and competed. We’ve built a good foundation for tomorrow.”

“I was very happy to see Abie make the podium,” added Dennis. “Anytime you can get someone on the podium, it’s outstanding. Coach [Rosalind] Joseph has done a great job getting her there. But she has more in her, and we’ll see what that is tomorrow in the triple jump.”

Here’s a complete recap of the first day of competition at SPIRE Institute for Ohio State:

60m Prelims

Three Buckeyes qualified for the championship race on Saturday: Christienne Linton (7.48), Ashlee Abraham (7.48) and Adenike Pedro (7.49). Abraham and Pedro finished second and third, respectively, in heat one (sixth and ninth overall), while Linton was the runner-up in the third heat and fifth overall. Morolake Akinosun of Illinois turned in the top preliminary time (7.34).

60m Hurdle Prelims

Ohio State advanced three athletes to Saturday’s final: Alexandria Johnson (seventh, 8.52), Linton (eighth, 8.55) and Alexis Franklin (ninth, 8.62). Breeana Coleman of Illinois was the top qualifier, finishing with a time of 8.20. 

200m Prelims

Winning her section in a season-best time of 24.07, Aisha Cavin placed third overall in the 200m preliminary heats. Ashley Spencer of Illinois holds the top time heading into Saturday’s championship race (23.47).

400m Prelims

Cavin and Johnson also qualified for the 400m finals. Cavin placed first in her heat and second overall in a season-best time of 54.17. Johnson finished second in her heat and seventh overall in a personal-best time of 54.66. Spencer of Illinois turned in the top run of the day, crossing the finish line in 53.83.

600m Prelims

Olberding’s PR – the third-best 600m time in school history – vaulted her to a win in her heat and fifth-place finish overall. Samantha Murphy qualified first overall in 1:28.87.

800m Prelims

Borchers won her heat and finished with the third fastest time of the day (2:07.05, 21st in Division I this season). Michigan’s Rebecca Addison topped the field in the prelim, completing her race in 2:06.08.

Long Jump Finals

Nebraska’s Mara Griva bested Ehimwenman for the conference title with a mark of (6.32m/20-9.00).

Distance Medley Finals

Borchers, Olberding, SoSo Walker and Tori Brink combined for a time of 11:28.00, second all-time in school history and a top-25 time nationally. Michigan won its 10th-consecutive DMR Big Ten title in a meet-record time of 11:11.41. 

Team Standings – Six Events Scored

1. Nebraska, 50 points

2. Wisconsin, 32

3. Michigan, 31

4. Illinois, 30

5. Minnesota, 24

6. Indiana/Penn State, 19

8. Purdue/Michigan State, 10

10. Ohio State, 9