October 21, 2021

E.J. Liddell Named to Karl Malone Watch List


COLUMBUS, Ohio – Ohio State junior forward E.J. Liddell was named to the 2022 Karl Malone Power Forward of the Year Award Watch List on Thursday by the Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame.

The annual honor, now in its eighth year, recognizes the top power forwards in Division I men’s college basketball. A national committee of top college basketball personnel determined the watch list of 20 candidates.

Liddell had a breakout season in 2020-21, earning first team All-Big Ten honors after averaging 16.2 points per game. He capped the year by being named to the Big Ten All-Tournament Team and then scored 23 points and grabbed 14 rebounds in his first NCAA Tournament game vs. Oral Roberts.

The College Hoops Today Preseason All-American was also named one of the team’s four captains for this season. The Belleville, Ill., native is a majoring in journalism.

In late January, the watch list will be narrowed to 10 and then in late February, the five finalists will be announced. In March, the five finalists will be presented to Mr. Malone and the Hall of Fame’s selection committee where a winner will be selected.

Liddell joins Justice Sueing who was named to the Julius Erving Small Forward of the Year Watch List on Wednesday. The Buckeyes will host Indianapolis in an exhibition game on Nov. 1 and then will open the regular season on Tuesday, Nov. 9 vs. Akron.

2022 Karl Malone Power Forward of the Year Award Watch List

Azoulas Tubelis Arizona
Jabari Smith Auburn
David Roddy Colorado St.
Paolo Banchero Duke
Drew Timme Gonzaga
Trayce Jackson-Davis Indiana
Kenneth Lofton Jr. Louisiana Tech
Eli Scott Loyola Marymount
Darius Days LSU
Donta Scott Maryland
DeAndre Williams Memphis
Dawson Garcia North Carolina
E.J. Liddell Ohio State
Quincy Guerrier Oregon
Trevion Williams Purdue
John Fulkerson Tennessee
Tre Mitchell Texas
Isaiah Mobley USC
Jayden Gardner Virginia
Keve Aluma Virginia Tech