April 24, 2014


COLUMBUS, Ohio – Redshirt freshman Driss Guessous was selected as an All-American by The American Volleyball Coaches Association (AVCA) in its 24th annual Division I-II Men’s All-America Teams. Guessous is one of just 20 players, and the only fresheman, chosen as 2014 All-Americans. He earned a spot on the AVCA All-America Second Team. Guessous was also crowned the AVCA Newcomer of the Year.

Guessous becomes the eighth Buckeye in school history to be named an AVCA All-American, a recognition Ohio State has garnered a total of 14 times. The selections are made by the AVCA Division I-II Men’s Volleyball All-America Committee, including OSU head coach Pete Hanson, and the honorees will be presented their awards at the 2014 NCAA Men’s Volleyball Championship Banquet on the campus of Loyola-Chicago on Wednesday, April 30, 2014.

Earlier this year, Guessous became the third Buckeye to be named MIVA Freshman of the Year since 2005. The 6-foot-8 middle blocker led the conference throughout the entire season with a .446 hitting percentage. He also ranked seventh with 0.90 blocks per set. The Pasadena, Calif., native racked up 24 solo blocks, the 10th-most in school history. His defensive efforts earned him MIVA Defensive Player of the Week recognition earlier this season (Feb. 11) after racking up 11 blocks for a 1.38 per set average against Penn State and Saint Francis.

First Team
MB – Taylor Averill, Hawai’i
L – Michael Brinkley, UC Irvine
S – Micah Christenson, USC
OH – Brian Cook, Stanford
OH – Taylor Crabb, Long Beach State
OH – Thomas Jaeschke, Loyola-Chicago
OH – Geoff Powell, Lewis
OH – Gonzalo Quiroga, UCLA
OH – Aaron Russell, Penn State
OH – Taylor Sander, BYU

Second Team
S – BJ Boldog, Lewis
L – Hendry Cassiday, USC
MB – Driss Guessous, Ohio State
OH – Steven Irvin, Stanford
MB – Scott Kevorken, UC Irvine
MB – Matt Leske, Ball State
S – Jonah Seif, UC Santa Barbara
S – James Shaw, Stanford
OH – Josh Taylor, Pepperdine
S – Matt West Pepperdine

Aja Angel – 1998 (1st team), 2000 (2nd)
Rene Esteves – 1998-1999 (2nd), 2000 (1st)
Mark Greaves – 2005 (2nd)
Driss Guessous – 2014 (2nd)
Steven Kehoe – 2010 (2nd), 2011 (1st)
Daniel Mathews – 2007-2008 (1st)
Peter Olree – 2002 (2nd)
Shawn Sangrey – 2010 (2nd), 2012 (1st)