Buckeyes set to host 2010 Big Ten Championships in St. John Arena at 2 p.m. Saturday

COLUMBUS, Ohio – Senior captain Hillary Dow and junior Rebecca Best received second-team All-Big Ten honors Friday night at the 2010 Big Ten Women’s Gymnastics banquet held at Ohio Stadium in Columbus, Ohio.

For Dow, the all-conference honor is the first of her career while Best, a 2009 All-American, earns her third second-team honor. In six seasons, Ohio State head coach Carey Fagan has tutored eight student-athletes to 11 All-Big Ten honors with Best being her first three-time awardwinner.

Dow, also the 2010 Ohio State sportsmanship honoree, notched the best score for the Buckeyes on vault (9.875) and tied for the team lead on bars (9.800) as a senior. She competed in the all-around for Ohio State at nine meets this year, scoring a season-best 39.050 as the Buckeyes upset Penn State in St. John Arena Feb. 27.

Best led Ohio State in the all-around this season, posting the top Buckeye all-around score at five meets. With a 39.150 against Auburn March 13, Best took first at the meet and recorded the team’s season-high all-around score while also tying for the team’s high on bars with a 9.800. In Ohio State’s 11 meets this season, she has collected 17 Top 3 finishes.

Dow and Best and the rest of the Buckeye squad hit the mats at 2 p.m. Saturday in St. John Arena for the 2010 Big Ten Women’s Gymnastics Championships. The meet will be aired live by the Big Ten Network.

2010 Women’s Gymnastics All-Conference Teams                                                         
Allison Buckley, ILL
Melissa Fernandez, ILL
Sarah Schmidt, ILL
Rebecca Simbhudas, IOWA
Kylee Botterman, MICH
Sarah Curtis, MICH
Nicole Curler, MSU
Alexis Russell, MINN
Sharaya Musser, PSU
Brandi Personett, PSU

Nicole Cowart, ILL
Houry Gebeshian, IOWA
Jessa Hansen, IOWA
Natalie Beilstein, MICH
Kelsey Knutson, MICH
Kelsey Morley, MSU
Rochelle Robinson, MSU
Rebecca Best, OSU
Hillary Dow, OSU
Natalie Ettl, PSU

2010 Big Ten Women’s Gymnastics Sportsmanship Honorees:
Illinois –  Laura Woolf
Iowa — Jessa Hansen
Michigan – Sarah Curtis
Michigan State – Rochelle Robinson
Minnesota — Alexis Russell
Ohio State – Hillary Dow
Penn State – Natalie Ettl