July 1, 2020

Dormet and Hurley Earn B1G Distinguished Scholar Accolades


COLUMBUS, Ohio — Mary Beth Hurley and Luna Dormet, who recently finished their junior seasons with the Ohio State women’s tennis team, have both been named Big Ten Distinguished Scholars for 2019-20, the Big Ten Conference announced Wednesday.

Hurley, a health sciences major, earns the award for the second time, while Dormet, who is majoring in political science, received the award in her first year eligible.

Big Ten Faculty Representatives established the Distinguished Scholar Award in 2008 to supplement the Academic All-Big Ten program. Distinguished Scholar Award recipients must have earned Academic All-Big Ten recognition in the previous academic year, must have been enrolled full time at the institution for the entire previous academic year (two semesters or three quarters) and earned a minimum GPA of 3.70 or better during the previous academic year, excluding any summer grades. The Academic All-Big Ten threshold is a cumulative GPA of 3.0 or higher for a student’s academic career.

Hurley is a two-time Academic All-Big Ten selection and a three-time Ohio State Scholar-Athlete. Dormet, a Big Ten Sportsmanship Award winner, is a two-time Ohio State Scholar-Athlete and has earned Academic All-Big Ten accolades.


Ohio State Buckeyes