March 28, 2023

Dorenkott Named B1G Women’s Swim Coach of the Year for Fourth Straight Season


COLUMBUS, Ohio – For the fourth straight season, Bill Dorenkott has been selected as the Big Ten Women’s Swim Coach of the Year, announced by the conference on Tuesday and decided by a league-wide vote of conference head coaches.

Dorenkott led the Buckeyes to their fourth consecutive Big Ten title. Ohio State won 11 total events at the 2023 Big Ten Championships, setting seven Canham Natatorium records, seven program records and one Big Ten Championships record in the process.

At the 2023 NCAA Championships, Ohio State placed sixth, its highest finish in program history. It was the third straight season the Buckeyes have placed in the Top 10, which is the most consecutive Top-10 finishes in program history. Over the course of the four-day championships, 11 Buckeyes combined for a total of 32 All-American honors and Ohio State finished the highest of all competing Big Ten teams.

Another highlight of the 2022-23 season was a 186.5-113.5 dual meet victory over Michigan; it was the first time in program history the Buckeyes won a dual meet against the Wolverines in Ann Arbor. It was also the first time in program history Ohio State has won back-to-back dual meets against Michigan; the Buckeyes defeated the Wolverines in Columbus in 2022.

The Buckeyes were ranked in the Top 10 of the CSCAA Top 25 Dual Meet rankings for the entire season, finishing the regular season as the No. 5 ranked team in the country.

The award is the fifth of Dorenkott’s career; he earned his first Coach of the Year award in 2005 while coaching the women’s team at Penn State. Dorenkott has coached a total of seven Big Ten championship teams, which is the second-most among Big Ten women’s head coaches.