COLUMBUS, Ohio Three members of the Ohio State men and women’s diving teams qualified for the NCAA Championships at the NCAA Zone C Diving Championships Friday at the McCorkle Aquatic Pavilion.

Ryan Jefferson, Wes Wieser and Bianca Alvarez each advanced to the national meet. The women compete in Columbus at the McCorkle Aquatic Pavilion on March 20-22. The men’s championships will be held at Federal Way, Washington on March 27-29.

The sophomore Jefferson won the three-meter springboard with a score of 684.65 to qualify for his first trip to the NCAA championships. Finishing right behind Jefferson in second was Wieser. The junior qualified for his second trip to the national championships with a score of 676.50.

Bianca Alvarez qualified for her first NCAA championships on the one-meter springboard. The freshman captured second in the event after scoring 587.15 points.

Also competing on Friday were junior Chelsea Davis and freshmen Kristen Asman and Sean Moore. Davis recorded a fifth-place finish (555.05), while Asman finished 10th with 511.20 points on the one-meter. Moore took fifth on the three-meter with a score of 647.80.

Competition continues Saturday at 1 p.m. at the McCorkle Aquatic Pavilion. The men will compete on the one-meter, while the women will compete on the three-meter.

Men and Women’s Diving
NCAA Diving Zone C

Friday, March 14, 2008
Columbus, Ohio
McCorkle Aquatic Pavilion

Men’s Three-Meter
1. Ryan Jefferson (Ohio State) 684.65
2. Wes Wieser (Ohio State) 676.50
3. Michael Bulfin (Notre Dame) 666.35

Women’s One-Meter
1. Ashley Karnes (Purdue) 594.20
2. Bianca Alvarez (Ohio State) 587.15
3. Brittney Feldman (Indiana) 579.40