COLUMBUS, Ohio All eight members of the Ohio State diving team competed at the 2009 Speedo USA Diving Spring National meet in Fort Lauderdale, Fla., April 22-26. Buckeye divers that competed were sophomores Bianca Alvarez, Kristen Asman, Katie Bell and Sean Moore, juniors Burkley Showe and Ryan Jefferson, and seniors Chelsea Davis and Wes Wieser.

On the women’s side of competition, Alvarez, of Miami, Fla., earned second on the one-meter springboard with a score of 294.40. Davis, a Columbus product, left with a silver medal after she finished second on the three-meter springboard (291.15).

On the women’s 10-meter platform, Bell finished out the preliminary round on top with a score of 321.65. The Columbus product went on to finish fourth in the finals with 302.50 points. Asman competed in the preliminary round of the platform competition and finished with 215.90 points.

For the men, Moore led the way by taking third on the platform (388.55). He, along with diving partner David Colturi of Purdue, captured the synchronized platform title with a score of 395.28. The pair also took third on the synchronized three-meter springboard (349.68).

Jefferson, from Madison, Wis., finished fourth on the one-meter springboard (333.80), while Showe, of Columbus, took fifth on the three-meter springboard (365.15). Wieser, of Chesterfield, Mo., finished ninth on the platform (301.20) and competed in the one-meter springboard preliminary round.