March 11, 2020

Divers Set for NCAA Zone C Diving Championships in Kentucky



Dive Central | Live Results | Twitter

COLUMBUS, Ohio – The Ohio State men’s and women’s diving team is set to compete for highly coveted spots on all three boards at the upcoming NCAA Swimming and Diving Championships. The NCAA Zone C Diving Championships will be held at the University of Kentucky from Thursday, March 12-Saturday, March 14. Competition in the Lancaster Aquatic Center will begin at 1 p.m. on Thursday while the last session will commence at 11 a.m. on Saturday.

Admission is free for the duration of the event. Live scoring can be found here.

Ohio State has nine divers competing in the Zone C Championships including five men and four women. The Buckeye divers include Joseph Canova, Jacob Fielding (So.), Hunter Grannum (Fr.), Jacob Siler (Jr.) and Lyle Yost (Fr.) for the men and Genevieve Angerame (Jr.), Lexie Barker (Jr.), Jackie Brenn (Fr.) and Mackenzie Crawford (Fr.) for the women.

The Zone C competition will include programs from Kentucky, Illinois, Indiana, Michigan and Ohio. Divers competing this weekend had to meet preset standards at a dive meet throughout the season in order to qualify for the zone championships. The top 18 finalists from preliminary rounds will advance to the final round. At the conclusion of the final round per discipline, scored will be calculated to determine who will earn bids to the 2020 NCAA Championships. Automatic qualifying spots are as follows:

Zone C: Automatic Qualifying Spots

1-Meter – Women: 7; Men: 7
3-Meter – Women: 6; Men: 7
Platform – Women: 10; Men: 10

Competition on Thursday will begin at 1 p.m. with women’s 1-meter diving followed by men’s 3-meter diving. The men’s 1-meter competition will begin at 1 p.m. on Friday while the women will compete on the 3-meter. Platform diving on Saturday will begin at 11 a.m. with women first followed by a break before the men’s competition.

Schedule of Events

Thursday, March 12: Women’s 1-meter; Men’s 3-meter
Friday, March 13: Men’s 1-meter; Women’s 3-meter
Saturday, March 14: Women’s platform; Men’s platform