May 4, 2017

Di Lorenzo and Kowase Headed to NCAA Tournament


May 4, 2017

COLUMBUS, Ohio – Ohio State women’s tennis sophomore Francesca Di Lorenzo is the No. 1 seed in the NCAA Singles Championship and the Buckeye doubles team of senior Miho Kowase and Di Lorenzo is an at-large selection for the NCAA Doubles Championship. The NCAA singles and doubles championships will be held May 19-23 at the Dan Magill Tennis Complex in Athens, Ga.

Di Lorenzo, who earned the Big Ten’s automatic qualifier spot into the NCAA tournament, is the top seed in the 64-player singles draw. She has been the No. 1-ranked player all spring after winning two ITA national titles in the fall. Di Lorenzo is 33-1 overall this year, with a 23-3 mark in dual matches, all on court one. She was the No. 3 seed in last year’s tournament when she was the first Buckeye to earn a spot in the NCAA Tournament since 2002 and reached the quarterfinals of the 2016 tournament.

Kowase and Di Lorenzo, ranked No. 19 in the NCAA, are one of 23 at-large selections into the 32-team doubles bracket. The duo is 15-1 this spring, with a 10-0 mark on court one, and has won its last 11 matches. They were 7-0 in Big Ten play and have six wins over ranked foes. Kowase will be making her second doubles appearance in the NCAA tournament after earning a spot with Anna Sanford last year.

Sanford, a junior ranked 60th, is one of the alternates for the NCAA Singles Championship. She is 15-8 this spring, including 10-7 on court two, and 21-12 overall.

All matches in the NCAA Championship will be best-of-three sets. No-ad scoring and a seven-point tiebreaker (first to seven points, must win by two points) at six-games-all will be used for all matches. In doubles, a 10-point match tiebreaker will be played in lieu of a third set.

The Buckeyes, 28-2 on the year, will host Buffalo in the first round at noon May 13, with Kansas going up against Notre Dame in the other first round matchup at 9 a.m. The winning teams will meet at noon May 14 for a spot in the NCAA Round of 16, which will be held in Athens, Ga. All matches are scheduled to be played outdoors at the Varsity Tennis Courts in Columbus.