May 13, 2022

Dabrowa Wins USFCA Men’s Team Collegiate Assistant Coach of the Year Award


COLUMBUS, Ohio — Katarzyna Dabrowa, Ohio State fencing associate head coach, is the winner of the United States Fencing Coaches Association Men’s Team Collegiate Assistant Coach of the Year award. The winners were determined by a nationwide vote of USFCA-member fencing programs.

Dabrowa, the primary weapon coach for the Ohio State epee squad, was also recognized as the Central Collegiate Fencing Conference Men’s Team Assistant Coach of the Year this spring. She helped lead the Buckeye men to a 27-6 season record and Ohio State captured fifth place at the NCAA team championships. At the CCFC Championships, the Buckeye men won the team trophy, along with sweeping the men’s foil, epee and sabre squad titles. Ohio State qualified the maximum six men to the NCAA Championships, with Gabriel Feinberg capturing the men’s epee NCAA crown and Bence Bende placing 10th. Feinberg was a finalist for the USFCA Men’s Collegiate Epee Athlete of the Year award.

Beyond NCAA fencing, Dabrowa helped coach epee squad members to high standing within USA Fencing, including members of the Junior National Team, Junior National Travel Squad and Senior National Travel Squad.

Dabrowa, a fencer at Ohio State from 2011-13, returned to her alma mater as an assistant coach in 2018, the youngest female assistant coach in NCAA Division I fencing when she was hired, and was promoted to associate head coach in October 2021. She was a co-captain of the 2012 NCAA championship team and was the first Buckeye to win a NCAA title in women’s epee.

During Dabrowa’s first three years on the Buckeye staff, Ohio State was the Central Collegiate Fencing Conference men’s champion and women’s co-champion in 2021, claimed the men’s and women’s Midwest Fencing Conference titles in 2020 and won the overall MFC team title in 2019, when Ohio State placed sixth at the NCAA Championship as a team. Dabrowa coached Oliver Shindler to the 2019 NCAA epee championship.

Ohio State Buckeyes