March 10, 2014

Additional Info

Craft Earns 2nd B1G Defensive Player of the Year Honor

Aaron Craft, the all-time Big Ten leader in career steals (328), was named the 2014 Big Ten Defensive Player of the Year as selected by the league coaches. Craft also won the honor as a sophomore in 2012. Craft has been a member of the league’s all-defensive team every year of his career (2011-14). He is the second Big Ten player to make the team four times (Chris Kramer, Purdue, 2007-10). Shannon Scott also was recognized as a league all-defensive team member this year for the second-consecutive season (2013, 2014). Scott was second in the league this year, behind Craft (80) in total steals (64). Thad Matta has coached six players who have combined to earn 10 spots on the league’s all-defensive team. His players have won three league defensive players of the year. Greg Oden won the honor in 2007.

Ross, Craft Named to All-Big Ten Teams

Media covering the Big Ten selected Aaron Craft as a second team All-Big Ten honoree while placing LaQuinton Ross on the honorable mention list. The league coaches named both Craft and Ross to the All-Big Ten third team. Lenzelle Smith Jr. was named Ohio State’s 2014 Big Ten Sportsmanship Award Honoree.


Matta’s All-Big Ten Honorees


Big Ten Player of the Year

2006      Terence Dials                  2010 Evan Turner


First Team All-Big Ten

2006              Terence Dials

2007              Greg Oden, Mike Conley, Jr.

2008              Jamar Butler

2009, 2010     Evan Turner

2011, 2012     Jared Sullinger

2013              Deshaun Thomas, Aaron Craft


Big Ten Freshman of the Year

2007      Greg Oden                       2011       Jared Sullinger

2009      William Buford


Big Ten Defensive Player of the Year

2007      Greg Oden                       2014       Aaron Craft

2012      Aaron Craft


Big Ten 6th Man of the Year

2007      Daequan Cook               2011       Aaron Craft

2009      B.J. Mullens