COLUMBUS, Ohio – With a 3-1 win over fourth-seed Josh Asper of Maryland Friday morning, senior Colt Sponseller of the Ohio State wrestling team advanced to the 165-pound semifinals at the 2011 NCAA Championships at the Wells Fargo Center in Philadelphia, Pa. Additionally, Sponseller became an All-American with the win.

Up next for the Buckeye from Glenmont, Ohio, is No. 1 seed Jordan Burroughs of Nebraska. Semifinal action will begin at 7 p.m. Friday and it will be televised live on ESPNU. Fans can also follow along on NWCA Match Tracker at

Sponseller scored an early escape in the second period to take a 1-0 lead, but Asper countered with an escape of his own in the third period to even the score. However, Sponseller scored a takedown later in the third to secure the victory and his first All-America honor.

Redshirt-freshman Nick Heflin remains in contention for a third-place finish at 174 pounds. A native of Massillon, Ohio, Heflin wrestled twice Friday morning, first downing Mike Dessino of Bloomsburg, 8-2, before beating Minnesota’s Scott Glasser, 4-2. Heflin will take on No. 8 Mike Letts of Maryland Friday night.

A trio of Buckeyes in Ian Paddock (133), C.J. Magrum (184) and Peter Capone (197) were eliminated from competition. 

2011 NCAA Division I Wrestling Championships
March 18, 2011
Philadelphia, Pa.
Wells Fargo Center
Session III

Team Standings (Top 10)
1. 61.0 Cornell
2. 60.5 Penn State
3. 52.0 Iowa
4. 49.0 American
5. 44.5 Oklahoma State
6. 41.0 Wisconsin
7. 37.0 Lehigh
8. 35.0 Arizona State
8. 35.0 Boise State
10. 32.0 Minnesota
24. 17 Ohio State

Individual Results
Devin Carter (Virginia Tech) mdec. Ian Paddock (Ohio State), 16-8
Ian Paddock (Ohio State) dec. Garrett Drucker (Oregon State), 3-1
David Thorn (Minnesota) dec. Ian Paddock (Ohio State), 8-2

No. 5 Colt Sponseller (Ohio State) mdec. Chad Porter (Liberty), 11-3
No. 5 Colt Sponseller (Ohio State) dec. Eren Civan (Columbia), 7-3
No. 5 Colt Sponseller (Ohio State) dec. Josh Asper (Maryland), 3-1

No. 10 Nick Heflin (Ohio State) dec. Matt Demichiel (Navy), 6-0
No. 7 Nick Amuchastegui (Stanford) dec. No. 10 Nick Heflin (Ohio State), 6-1
No. 10 Nick Heflin (Ohio State) dec. Mike Dessino (Bloomsburg), 8-2 
No. 10 Nick Heflin (Ohio State) dec. Scott Glasser (Minnesota), 4-2

Daniel Rinaldi (Rutgers) mdec. C.J. Magrum (Ohio State), 8-0
C.J. Magrum (Ohio State) dec. Mike Larson (Missouri), 3-0
Joe LeBlanc (Wyoming) dec. C.J. Magrum (Ohio State), 12-8

No. 6 Micah Burak (Penn) dec. Peter Capone (Ohio State), 7-3
Peter Capone (Ohio State) dec. Erik Schuth (Ohio), 7-3
Andy Johnson (Nebraska) mdec. Peter Capone (Ohio State), 12-2