March 26, 2016

Complete Meet Results

Columbus, Ohio— After placing first in 24 of 30 events he competed in, and winning two Big Ten Championships, and sweeping the NCAA Zone C Diving Meet, Colin Zeng ended his season on the highest possible note: by becoming a National Champion.

His score of 499.10 secured the first men’s diving national championship for Ohio State since 2008.

Entering the final dive of the competition, Zeng and Arizona’s Rafael Quintero were separated by just a tenth of a point with Zeng trailing. Quintero posted a solid dive, but the Buckeye phenom blew him away by posting a dive with a score of 90.00 to clinch his national title. His third dive of the finals was nearly perfect, scoring him 99.00 out of 100. In total he had three dives with scores over 90. There were only two other dives that scored 90 or above between the other seven divers tonight.

Ohio State has about a storied history in diving as anyone and Zeng will join that prestigious company, becoming the 59th diving national champion in school history. He becomes just the third to win in platform.

Oh, and he also set the pool record during prelims with a score of 509.25. All in all an amazing day for Zeng.

Earlier in the day, senior DJ MacDonald earned honorable mention All-America honors in the 200 breaststroke, posting a time of 1:54.62 to finish in 12th place. He outpaced his seed time by nearly a full second. MacDonald ends his career at OSU with his third straight honorable mention All-America distinction, becoming just the 13th Scarlet and Gray swimmer to earn that honor at least three times. Truly one of the finest to represent the Buckeyes.

Ohio State ends the 2016 NCAA Championships on a high note and finishes in 15th place with 91 points. This is the 10th straight season that the Buckeyes have finished in the top-20 at NCAA’s.

National Champion:
Colin Zeng- Platform Diving

Colin Zeng- Platform, one-meter
Matt McHugh: 100 butterfly, 100 backstroke

Honorable Mention All-Americans:
Stephen Romanik: three-meter diving
DJ MacDonald: 200 breaststroke
McHugh, Andrew Appleby, Mossimo Chavez, Kevin Musterait: 200 freestyle relay
Appleby, McHugh, Ching Lim, Dustin Tynes: 400 medley relay