DALLAS (FWAA) – Six Football Writers Association of America All-Americans are among 62 players selected to the 2009 Bronko Nagurski Watch List, announced today by the FWAA and the Charlotte Touchdown Club. Included on the list are two past finalists for the Bronko Nagurski Trophy, TCU end Jerry Hughes and South Florida end George Selvie.

The Bronko Nagurski Trophy is awarded annually to the nation’s best defensive player by the FWAA and the Charlotte Touchdown Club. The trophy has been presented since 1993 and is awarded in memory of the legendary Nagurski, an All-America lineman at Minnesota in 1927-29 and a star for professional football’s Chicago Bears in the 1930s.

Besides Hughes, a 2008 All-American, and Selvie, a 2007 All-American, other FWAA All-Americans from last season on the 2009 Watch List are Tennessee defensive back Eric Berry Alabama tackle Terrence Cody, USC defensive back Taylor Mays and Florida linebacker Brandon Spikes.

The Bronko Nagurski Watch List is fluid. Players may be added or removed during the season. After the first four games of the season, the FWAA will revise the list and at that time school sports information directors may submit names for players not on the list to the FWAA and their conference’s FWAA All-America Committee representative.

Each week during the 2009 season, the FWAA will choose a Bronko Nagurski National Defensive Player of the Week. If the selected player is not on the watch list, he automatically will be added. The FWAA and the Charlotte Touchdown Club will announce five finalists for the Bronko Nagurski Trophy on November 18 or 19.

The annual Bronko Nagurski Trophy Banquet will be on Dec. 7 at the Westin Hotel in Charlotte, N.C. Besides the 2009 winner being announced, the banquet will also celebrate the winner of the Bronko Nagurski Legends Award, presented by CSX Intermodal. Defensive back Roger Wehrli, a standout for the University of Missouri and the St. Louis Cardinals, is being honored from the FWAA’s 1968 All-American team.


 Javier Arenas, DB, Alabama   Koa Misi, DE, Utah
 Geno Atkins, DT, Georgia  Jerome Murphy, CB, USF
 Kevin Basped, DE, Nevada  Andre Neblett, NT, Temple
 Jeremy Beal, DE, Oklahoma  Eric Norwood, LB, South Carolina
 Eric Berry, DB, Tennessee  Jared Odrick, DT, Penn State
 Navorro Bowman, LB, Penn State  Vince Oghobaase, DT, Duke
 Morgan Burnett, DB, Georgia Tech  Jeff Owens, DT, Georgia
 Kam Chancellor, DB, Virginia Tech  Stephen Paea, DT, Oregon State
 Barry Church, DB, Toledo  Joe Pawelek, LB, Baylor
 Terrence Cody, DT, Alabama  Brian Price, DT, UCLA
 Kurt Coleman, DB, Ohio State  Boo Robinson, NG, Wake Forest
 Antonio Coleman, DE, Auburn  George Selvie, DE, USF
 Rennie Curran, LB, Georgia  Malcolm Sheppard, DT, Arkansas
 Ras-I Dowling, CB, Virginia  D’Anthony Smith, DT, Louisiana Tech
 Carlos Dunlap, DE, Florida  Brandon Spikes, LB, Florida
 Brandon Graham, DE, Michigan  Darrell Stuckey, DB, Kansas
 Joe Haden, DB, Florida  Quan Sturdivant, LB, North Carolina
 Greg Hardy, DE, Ole Miss  Ndamukong Suh, DT, Nebraska
 Jerry Hughes, DE, TCU  Syd’Quan Thompson, DB, California
 Micah Johnson, LB, Kentucky  Walter Thurmond III, DB, Oregon
 Greg Jones, LB, Michigan State  Torrell Troup, DT, UCF
 Arthur Jones, DT, Syracuse  Alterraun Verner, DB, UCLA
 Sergio Kindle, LB, Texas  T.J. Ward, DB, Oregon
 Brandon Lang, DE, Troy  Daryl Washington, LB, TCU
 Sean Lee, LB, Penn State  Sean Weatherspoon, LB, Missouri
 Mark LeGree, DB, Appalachian State  Deunta Williams, FS, North Carolina
 Myron Lewis, CB, Vanderbilt  Kyle Wilson, CB, Boise State
 Trevard Lindley, DB, Kentucky  C.J. Wilson, DE, East Carolina
 Taylor Mays, DB, USC  Corey Wootton, DE, Northwestern
 Rolondo McClain, LB, Alabama  Alex Wujciak, LB, Maryland
 Gerald McCoy, DT, Oklahoma  Willie Young, DE, N.C. State

Players may be added or deleted from the list before or during the season

The Football Writers Association of America, a non-profit organization founded in 1941, consists of more than 1,100 men and women across North America who cover college football for a living. The membership includes journalists, broadcasters and publicists, as well as key executives in all the areas that involve the game. The FWAA works to govern areas that include gameday operations, major awards and its annual All-America team.

The Charlotte Touchdown Club is a non-profit organization founded in 1990 for the purpose of promoting high school, collegiate, and professional football in the Charlotte, N.C. region. The club’s activities and services focus community attention on the outstanding citizenship, scholarship, sportsmanship, and leadership of area athletes and coaches. For more information, contact John Rocco (704-347-2918 or The official website of the Charlotte Touchdown Club is

The Bronko Nagurski Trophy is a member of the National College Football Awards Association (NCFAA). The NCFAA was founded in 1997 as a coalition of the major collegiate football awards to protect, preserve and enhance the integrity, influence and prestige of the game’s predominant awards. The NCFAA encourages professionalism and the highest standards for the administration of its member awards and the selection of their candidates and recipients. For more information, visit the association’s official website,

For more information on the Bronko Nagurski Trophy, contact FWAA executive director Steve Richardson (972-713-6198 or


 John Davis  Oxford (Miss.)  Eagle Southeastern
 Heather Dinich  Atlantic Coast
 Pete DiPrimio  Fort Wayne (Ind.) News-Sentinel  Big Ten
 Dennis Dodd  Independents
 Ryan Finley  Arizona Daily Star  Pacific-10
 Pete Fiutak  College Football News  National
 Kevin Gorman  Pittsburgh Tribune-Review  Big East
 Anthony Hanshew  The Herald-Dispatch (Huntington, W. Va.)  Conference USA
 Dave Matter  Columbia (Mo.) Daily Tribune  Big 12
 Mick McGrane  San Diego Union-Tribune  Mountain West
 Rodney McKissic  Buffalo News  Mid-American
 Adam Sparks  Daily News Journal (Murfreesboro, Tenn.)  Sun Belt
 Phil Steele  Phil Steele Publications  National
 Jimmy Watson  Shreveport Times  Western Athletic