Allstate and American Football Coaches Association to Honor Student-Athletes Who Make Off-the-Field Contributions

NORTHBROOK, Ill., July 22 — A hard-working and committed group of college football players will take the field this fall knowing that the impact they have on their teams and communities has nothing to do with touchdowns, tackles or receptions. For a second consecutive year, Allstate Insurance Company has partnered with the American Football Coaches Association (AFCA) to announce the list of 106 student-athletes nominated for the Allstate AFCA Good Works Team((R)), which honors college football players who make outstanding contributions in the areas of volunteerism and civic involvement.

With their unselfish acts, such as volunteering at orphanages in Kenya, building a reliable water source for villagers in Kabul, tutoring disadvantaged youth, and visiting elderly patients in nursing homes, Allstate AFCA Good Works Team((R)) nominees distinguish themselves among the more than 50,000 student-athletes participating in the sport at all four-year collegiate institutions through off-the-field accomplishments.

“Allstate and the AFCA have created a partnership of common interests and both organizations are proud to honor the off-the-field achievements of college football players and at all levels,” said Guy Hill, vice president of sales and service for Allstate. “Allstate shares a genuine commitment to the community with these 106 student-athletes, and we encourage them to continue their benevolent efforts.”

The total of 106 nominations submitted by sports information directors across the country on behalf of their teams surpasses all previous single-season nominee totals in the 18-year history of the award. The 2009 class of nominees represents 41 states, including Washington, D.C., and 45 college athletic conferences.

From these nominees, a special voting panel consisting of former Good Works Team((R)) members and prominent college football media members will be responsible for selecting two 11-player Good Works Teams((R)) – one composed of players from the NCAA Football Bowl Subdivision, and a combined team representing players from the NCAA Football Championship Subdivision, Divisions II, III, and the NAIA.

College Football Hall of Fame member and ESPN broadcast personality Lou Holtz will return as program spokesperson and serve as a member of this year’s voting panel.

“Allstate’s sponsorship of the Allstate AFCA Good Works Team((R)) was a welcome addition to one of the oldest, non-competition awards in college football,” said Grant Teaff, AFCA executive director. “As a very recognizable sponsor in the sport, Allstate is not only safe-guarding the tradition of college football, but also recognizing its players for their outstanding efforts both on and off the field and helping to shine a very positive light on the sport for all its fans.”

The 2009 Allstate/AFCA Good Works Teams((R)) voting panel includes: Allstate vice president, Guy Hill; former Good Works Teams((R)) members Matt Stinchcomb (Georgia, 1997, 1998 teams), Mike Proman (Amherst, 2002 team), Mewelde Moore (Tulane, 2003 team), Brian Brenberg (St. Thomas, 2001 team), Zaid Abdul-Aleem (Duke, 1994 team); media members Kirk Herbstreit (ESPN), Dennis Dodd (, Tony Barnhart (Atlanta Journal-Constitution), Kelly Whiteside (USA Today), Ivan Maisel (, Lou Holtz (ESPN); current AFCA president and San Jose State University head coach Dick Tomey; and 1996 AFCA president Fisher DeBerry, former head coach at the United States Air Force Academy.

The following players have been nominated for consideration to be included among the 2009 Allstate AFCA Good Works Teams(R):

Football Bowl Subdivision (Div I-A)
    Arizona Sate University – Mike Nixon
    Auburn University – Walter McFadden
    Ball State – Brandon Crawford
    Baylor University – Joe Pawelek
    Boise State University – Richie Brockel
    Brigham Young University – Jan Jorgensen
    Central Michigan University – Dan LeFevour
    Clemson University – Xavier Dye
    Colorado State University – Adrian Martinez
    Duke University – Kevin Jones
    Indiana University – Jammie Kirlew
    Kansas State University – Jeron Mastrud
    Louisiana State University – Lyle Hitt
    Middle Tennessee State University – Phillip Tanner
    Northern Illinois University – David Bryant
    Northwestern University – Andrew Brewer
    Ohio University – Lee Renfro
    Ohio State University – Kurt Coleman
    Oregon State University – Taylor Kavanaugh
    Pennsylvania State University – Stefen Wisniewski
    Rutgers University – Billy Anderson
    San Jose State University – Travis Jones
    Temple University – Dominique Harris
    University of Akron – Alex Allen
    University of Alabama – Javier Arenas
    University of Arkansas – D.J. Williams
    University of Central Florida – Rocky Ross
    University of Florida – Tim Tebow
    University of Georgia – Jeff Owens
    University of Houston – Case Keenum
    University of Iowa – Julian Vandervelde
    University of Kansas – Darrell Stuckey
    University of Kentucky – Alfonso Smith
    University of Memphis – Dominik Riley
    University of Michigan – Zoltan Mesko
    University of Missouri – Kurtis Gregory
    University of Nebraska-Lincoln – Roy Helu, Jr.
    University of North Carolina – Kyle Jolly
    University of Notre Dame – Jimmy Clausen
    University of Oklahoma – Sam Bradford
    University of Pittsburgh – Adam Gunn
    University of South Carolina – Mauricus Brown
    University of Texas – Austin – Jordan Shipley
    University of California-Los Angeles – Derrick Coleman
    University of Texas-El Paso – Cameron Raschke
    U.S. Air Force Academy – Nick Charles
    U.S. Naval Academy – Ross Pospisil
    Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University – Tyrod Taylor
    Wake Forest University – Benjamin Wooster
    West Virginia University – Reed Williams
    University of Wisconsin – Chris Maragos
    Western Michigan University – Tim Hiller

About the Allstate AFCA Good Works Team((R))
In order to meet the criteria set forth by Allstate and AFCA, each player must be actively involved and committed to working with a charitable organization, service group or community service while maintaining good academic standing.

The Allstate AFCA Good Works Teams((R)) were established in 1992 by the College Football Association, recognizing the extra efforts made by college football players and student support staff off the field. AFCA became the governing body of the award in 1997 and continues to honor college football players who go the extra mile for those in need. Allstate partnered to present the award starting with the 2008 season.

Since 1992, the Southeastern Conference leads all conferences with 50 selections to the Good Works Teams((R)), followed by the Big 12 with 35 selections and the Minnesota Intercollegiate Athletic Conference with 23 selections. In 2008, St. Thomas, Minn. running back Mikkel Haugen became the 11th Tommie to be selected to the Allstate AFCA Good Works Team, tying them with Georgia and Nebraska for the most selections of all time. Super Bowl XLII and XLI champion quarterbacks Eli and Peyton Manning were members of the 2002 and 1997 Good Works Teams((R)), respectively.

About AFCA
The American Football Coaches Association was founded in 1922 and currently has more than 10,000 members around the world ranging from the high school level to the professional ranks. According to its constitution, AFCA was formed, in part, to “maintain the highest possible standards in football and in the coaching profession” and to “provide a forum for the discussion and study of all matters pertaining to football.”