Oct. 14, 2014

Under the lights at the Woody Hayes Athletic Center Friday, the Ohio State men’s lacrosse team will close its fallball slate with a game against a team of young alumni. The Classic Buckeyes, including many who have gone on to professional lacrosse, and 2015 squad will face off at 7 p.m. at the Harmon Family Football Park. Admission is free.

At least 16 former Buckeyes are planning to take on the 2014-15 edition of the program. The group includes two Major League Lacrosse All-Stars and at least 11 who have been on Major League Lacrosse and/or National Lacrosse League rosters.

The team includes six players from the 2013 Ohio State team that won the ECAC Tournament and advanced to the NCAA quarterfinals and two who were on that squad as well as the 2014 ECAC regular season champion team. Five of the Buckeyes from the 2008 squad that advanced to the NCAA quarterfinals and won the Great Western Lacrosse League title are slated to play for the Classic Buckeyes. Four of the Classic Buckeyes played on the 2004 Ohio State team that won the GWLL regular-season title and earned a spot in the NCAA tourney, with two of those players on the 2003 squad that earned Ohio State’s first NCAA berth after winning the league crown.

The Classics team has combined for five All-America honors and 13 all-conference selections. The group was successful in the classroom as well, totaling 19 Academic All-Big Ten selections and 25 Ohio State Scholar-Athlete nods, along with six ECAC All-Academic team accolades.

2014 Classic Buckeye Roster
Dominique Alexander (’13)
Corey Bentine (’09)
Greg Bice (’04)
Kevin Buchanan (’08)
Matt Cafarelli (‘04)
Ryan Callahan (’97)
Mark Crawford (’13)
Dominic Imbordino (’14)
Josh Funk (’08)
Brian Lalley (’09)
Kevin Mack (’13)
Eric O’Brien (’07)
Patrick Riffee (’13)
Jeff Schneider (’07)
Stefan Schroder (’08)
Scott Spencer (’14)