Jan. 19, 2016


COLUMBUS, Ohio Chris Froschauer and Liam Doyle, both seniors on the Ohio State men’s soccer team, were selected in the 2016 Major League Soccer (MLS) SuperDraft Tuesday. Froschauer, the Big Ten Goalkeeper of the Year, was picked by the Colorado Rapids with the second pick in the third round, while Doyle, the Big Ten Defensive Player of the Year, was taken by D.C. United with the sixth pick in the fourth round.

Froschauer, from Union, Ky., was a first team All-Region and All-Big Ten selection and helped guided the Buckeyes to their fourth Big Ten title in school history. The four-time Big Ten Defensive Player of the Week, Froschauer led the conference with a .798 save percentage and 10 shutouts. His 10 shutouts were tied for third on the OSU single-season shutouts list, while his 0.88 goals-against average ranked ninth all-time in OSU single-season history.

Froschauer’s Postseason Honors
MLS SuperDraft selection
2015 Big Ten Goalkeeper of the Year
2015 First Team All-Big Ten
2015 First Team NSCAA All-Midwest

Doyle, a native of the Isle of Man, U.K., led an Ohio State defensive crew which limited opponents to 23 goals in 18 regular season-matches during the 2015 season, including just six goals in Big ten games, the lowest mark in the conference, as well as 10 clean sheets. A big left foot on set pieces, Doyle notched 10 points, including a season-high six assists, while registering a pair of goals. Doyle’s draft selections caps off an impressive final campaign in the Scarlet and Gray that included eight different postseason awards.

Doyle’s 2015 Postseason Honors & Highlights
MLS SuperDraft selection
MLS Combine Invite
2015 Second Team NSCAA Scholar All-American
2015 First Team NSCAA All-East Scholar
2015 Third Team NSCAA All-American

2015 First Team All-Big Ten

2015 First Team NSCAA All-Midwest
2015 Big Ten Defensive Player of the Year
2015 Academic All-Big Ten
2015 CoSIDA Academic All-District

Froschuaer and Doyle are the 15th and 16th Buckeye players to be taken in the Major League Soccer draft since 2003, respectively. They join Roger Espinoza (Kansas City) as well as Matt Lampson (Columbus) currently in the professional ranks.


Chris Froschauer, GK, Third Round (No. 43), Colorado Rapids
Liam Doyle, D, Fourth Round (No. 67), D.C. United

David Tiemstra, D, Supplemental Draft (No. 44), San Jose

Matt Gold, M, Third Round (No. 43), Toronto
Konrad Warzycha, M, Third Round (No. 46), Kansas City
Sam Scales, M, Supplemental Draft (No. 10), Kansas City

Roger Espinoza, M, First Round (No. 11), Kansas City
Eric Brunner, D, Second Round (No. 16). New York
Xavier Balc, F, Supplemental Draft (No. 2), Toronto

Dustin Kirby, D, Supplemental Draft (Fourth Round) Salt Lake

Ray Burse, GK, Third Round (No. 31), Dallas
Kyle Veris, D, Third Round (No. 32), Los Angeles

Justin Cook, F, Supplemental Draft (Second Round) Chicago
Sammy Tamporello, M, Supplemental Draft (Fourth Round) Dallas

Andy Rosenband, F, Sixth Round (No. 52) , Dallas
Jake Traeger, D, Sixth Round (No. 58), Columbus