November 20, 2019

Chase Young a Bronko Nagurski Trophy Finalist


Was Nagurski national player of the week after record-tying four-sack, five-TFL game vs. Wisconsin

COLUMBUS, Ohio – Ohio State junior defensive end Chase Young is one of five finalists for the Bronko Nagurski Trophy, presented annually to the nation’s top defensive player by the Football Writers Association of America and the Charlotte Touchdown Club.

Young, who leads the nation with 1.69 quarterback sacks per game (13.5 in eight games) and is second in tackles for loss with 15.5 and 1.9 per game, is joined as a finalist by Auburn DT Derrick Brown, Georgia SAF J.R. Reed, Clemson LB Isaiah Simmons and Minnesota DB Antoine Winfield Jr.

Young, who is 6-5, 265 pounds and from Upper Marlboro, Md., is the leader of an Ohio State defense that ranks:

  • 1 in the nation in total defense (216.4 yards allowed);
  • 1 in scoring defense (9.8 ppg);
  • 1 in passing yards allowed (126.0 ypg); and
  • 1 in red zone defense (61 pct.)

The Buckeye defense, under the direction of co-coordinators Jeff Hafley and Greg Mattison, have given up a nation’s low 11 touchdowns all season and have allowed just one first quarter touchdown.

Young is the fourth Bronko Nagurski Trophy finalist from Ohio State, after Andy Katzenmoyer in 1997 and James Laurinaitis in both 2006 and 2007. Laurinaitis won the award in 2006.

The annual Bronko Nagurski Trophy banquet will be held on Monday, Dec. 9 at the Charlotte (N.C.) Convention Center. Ohio State head coach Ryan Day is the keynote speaker.