March 5, 2017

CHAMPS! Ohio State Wins 2017 B1G Wrestling Crown


March 5, 2017

RELATED INFO:  Brackets |  Watch: B1G Finals Matches | Big Ten Championships Central |  2016-17 Statistics |  2016-17 Team Guide | Ticket Information | 2016-17 Schedule | 2016-17 Roster | Wrestling Homepage | Wrestling Camps | Follow the Buckeyes on Facebook, Twitter and Instagram

BLOOMINGTON, Ind. – The March magic that Ohio State captured last night carried over into Sunday, as the Buckeyes crowned four champions and won the fourth Big Ten wrestling team title in school history at Indiana’s Assembly Hall.

The Buckeyes got two dramatic title match victories at 133 and 174 pounds, respectively, and added wins at 197 and 285 pounds by Kollin Moore and Kyle Snyder to distance itself from second-place Penn State. Along the way, Nathan Tomasello became just the third three-time Big Ten champion with his 5-4 decision over Cory Clark and Bo Jordan scored an overtime takedown to defeat Mark Hall of the Nittany Lions.

In the team race, Ohio State finished ahead of top-ranked Penn State by 9.5 points, 139.5-130.0. Iowa was third with 112.5 points.

“We’ve got men who love what they do,” said head coach Tom Ryan. “We’ve got an administration that loves the sport. We stuck together, kept working and stuff like this happens.”

The championship round started with Tomasello scoring a buzzer-beating escape against Cory Clark after Clark tied the match at 4-4 with a takedown on the edge of the mat. A redshirt junior, Tomasello previously two titles at 125 pounds before making the move to 133 lbs. this year. Trailing 1-0 entering the final period, the match was tied of a locked hands call against Clark and then Tomasello went ahead 2-1 with an escape. He scored a takedown with 34 seconds left, only to have Clark counter with a takedown of his own.

“It’s an honor to be in such elite company now,” said Tomasello. “I’m thankful for people I have around me and my teammates. The culture here is really strong.”

After Penn State creeped to within two points in the team score following Zain Retherford’s win over Micah Jordan in the 149 lb. final, B. Jordan finished on a takedown in sudden victory against second-seeded Mark Hall to secure a 6-4 victory. The title, Jordan’s first, comes after two previous trips to the finals at 165 lbs. It also was an eight point swing in the team race, giving Ohio State much needed breathing room.

“I just listened to my coaches,” Jordan said of his overtime mentaility. “They said to be the first one to shoot so I tried to get to that leg and it worked out. It’s awesome – not just to win – but to wrestle the way I wanted to. The progression and effort I put into the match I was real happy about.”

Moore took the remaining drama out of the team race when he scored an impressive 15-11 win over top-seeded Brett Pfarr of Minnesota. Moore scored 11 first-period points, highlight by a takedown a four-point near fall, to give him all the distance he’d need on the scoreboard. Moore was also named the Big Ten’s Freshman of the Year.

“I follow the people around me in the room – guys like Myles, Kyle, Logan, Nate,” said Moore. “They all lead by example and are awesome guys to be around. If you follow them and do what they do, good things will happen.”

Snyder added yet another line to his resume in the 285 final, topping second-seeded and second-ranked Connor Medbery of Wisconsin 8-5 behind two first-period takedowns and another in the third. Snyder is now a three-time Big Ten finalist and two-time champion.

“We believed in ourselves,” said Snyder. “It’s about wrestling to your potential and getting the most out of yourself. When our guys do that – including myself – we can beat any team in the country.”  

• Ohio State’s team title is the fourth in school history and first outright championship since 1951.
• The Buckeyes put six wrestlers into the finals – a program record – and the four champions are the most in school history. Ohio State also set a record with 139.0 team points.
• Head coach Tom Ryan earned Big Ten Coach of the Year honors for the second time in the last three seasons.
• For the second time in the last four years, a pair of brothers wrestled for the Scarlet and Gray in the finals. In 2013, both Logan and Hunter Stieber did it; today, it was Micah and Bo Jordan.

Eight Buckeyes earned automatic bids to the NCAA Championships, which will be held March 16-18 in St. Louis, Mo. Earlier in the day, Jose Rodriguez punched his ticket with a pin of Purdue’s Ben Thornton in the seventh place match at 125 lbs. True freshman Luke Pletcher also won a consolation semifinal match in the morning session and finished fourth at 141 lbs.

2017 Big Ten Championships | Assembly Hall | Bloomington, Ind,
Day Two Individual Results

125 lbs. No. 8 seed Jose Rodriguez (15-10)
Seventh Place Match: Rodriguez fall of Ben Thornton (Purdue) 3:53
Rodriguez finishes seventh; earns NCAA automatic bid

133 lbs. No. 1 seed Nathan Tomasello (19-0)
Championship Finals: Tomasello decision over No. 2 Cory Clark 5-4
Tomasello wins 133 lb. Big Ten title; earns NCAA automatic bid

141 lbs. No. 5 seed Luke Pletcher (26-6)
Consolation Semifinals: Pletcher decision over Ryan Diehl (Maryland) 5-2
Pletcher finishes fourth; earns NCAA automatic bid

149 lbs. No. 3 seed Micah Jordan (28-3)
Championship Final: No. 1 Zain Retherford (Penn State) technical fall over Jordan 16-1
Jordan finishes second; earns NCAA automatic bid

157 lbs. No. 11 seed Jake Ryan (12-10)
Ninth Place Match: No. 8 Jake Danishek (Indiana) decision over Ryan 3-1 SV-1
Ryan finishes 10th

165 lbs. Cody Burcher (17-15)
Seventh Place Match: Johnny Sebastian (Northwestern) decision over Burcher 2-1
Burcher finishes eighth

174 lbs. No. 1 seed Bo Jordan (14-1)
Championship Final: Jordan decision over No. 2 Mark Hall (Penn State) 6-4 SV-1
Jordan wins 174 lb. Big Ten title; earns NCAA automatic bid

184 lbs. No. 4 seed Myles Martin (26-7)
Championship Final: No. 2 Sammy Brooks major decision over Martin 12-2
Martin finishes second; earns NCAA automatic bid

197 lbs. No. 2 seed Kollin Moore (28-3)
Championship Final: Moore decision over No. 1 Brett Pfarr 15-11
Moore wins 197 lb. Big Ten title; earns NCAA automatic bid

285 lbs. No. 1 seed Kyle Snyder (12-0)
Snyder decision over No. 2 Connor Medbery (Wisconsin) 8-5
Snyder wins 285 lb. Big Ten title; earns NCAA automatic NCAA bid

1. Ohio State – 139.5
2. Penn State – 130.0
3. Iowa – 112.5
4. Nebraska – 102.5
5. Minnesota – 93.0
6. Illinois – 88.5
7. Michigan – 83.0
8. Rutgers – 67.5
8. Wisconsin – 67.5
10. Michigan State – 38.5
11. Maryland – 32.0
12. Purdue – 26.0
13. Indiana – 24.5
14. Northwestern – 18.0

For the second time in three years, @wrestlingbucks wins the #B1G Championships.

Read »

— Big Ten Network (@BigTenNetwork) March 6, 2017

.@wrestlingbucks' @Snyder_man45 is the man. That is all.

— Ohio State on BTN (@OhioStateOnBTN) March 5, 2017

How does it feel to be a B1G champion, @moore_of_kollin?

— Ohio State on BTN (@OhioStateOnBTN) March 5, 2017

After two runner-up finishes, @wrestlingbucks' Bo Jordan is a @B1Gwrestling champion.

— Ohio State on BTN (@OhioStateOnBTN) March 5, 2017

What a finish at 133!@NATO_133 escaped in the closing seconds to bring a B1G title to @wrestlingbucks:

— Big Ten Network (@BigTenNetwork) March 5, 2017