October 21, 2019

Champions, Players of the Game Selected vs. Northwestern


Season Stats | Purchase Tickets | Facebook | Twitter | Instagram

COLUMBUS, Ohio – Following its 52-3 win last Friday night at Northwestern, Ohio State’s coaching staff has selected its champions and players of the game. Thirteen players graded out as champions on offense while 12 did so on defense. The players of the game were QB Justin Fields, LG Jonah Jackson, LB Malik Harrison and K Blake Haubeil.

DE Chase Young, DT Davon Hamilton and WR Chris Olave continued their respective streak of earning champion honors in every game this season. Young recorded a sack for the ninth straight game and leads the nation with 9.5 sacks on the season. Hamilton had two tackles for a defense that limited its seventh straight opponent to less than 300 yards of total offense. Olave matched caught two touchdown passes and had five receptions for a team-high 60 yards.

Justin Fields has 30 TDs accounted for this season, one ahead of the pace of 2018 Heisman Trophy finalist Dwayne Haskins

First-time champions were TE Mitch Rossi, TE Jeremy Ruckert, DT Tommy Togiai, DT Antwuan Jackson, CB Amir Riep and CB Sevyn Banks.

Harrison, who is tied with Jordan Fuller for the team lead with 37 total tackles this season, made nine stops on Friday and helped limit Northwestern to just 42 passing yards. Harrison is part of a Buckeye defense that’s allowed just five touchdowns all season and is currently second nationally in total defense (229.0 yards/game).

Jackson opened holes for a running game that compiled 279 yards and had runs of 73, 68 and 53 yards. Through seven games, Ohio State’s produced 12 rushes of 30 yards or more, which is fourth most in the country. Fields, meanwhile, completed 18 of 23 passes for 194 yards and four touchdowns. It was the fourth time in seven games that he completed 70 percent or more of his passes.

Haubeil’s 55-yard field goal at the end of the second quarter was the fifth longest field goal nationally so far this season. It’s also the second longest kick in Ohio State history, eclipsed only by Tom Skladany’s 59-yarder vs. Illinois in 1975.

Ohio State Champions vs. Northwestern
Chase Young, Davon Hamilton, Jonathon Cooper, Tommy Togiai, Antwuan Jackson, Brendan White, Damon Arnette, Jeff Okudah, Sevyn Banks, Jordan Fuller, Amir Riep
Player of the Game: Malik Harrison
Offense: J.K. Dobbins, Master Teague, Luke Farrell, Jeremy Ruckert, Mitch Rossi, Chris Olave, K.J. Hill, Garrett Wilson, Wyatt Davis, Josh Myers, Branden Bowen
Players of the Game: Justin Fields, Jonah Jackson
Scout Team Players of the Week: Chris Booker, Brandon Pahl, Tommy Eichenberg, Zaid Hamdan