November 11, 2019

Champions, Player of the Game Announced vs. Maryland


Purchase Tickets | Facebook | Twitter | Instagram

COLUMBUS, Ohio – For their efforts in Saturday’s 73-14 win over Maryland, a total of 28 players on offense and defense were named champions by the Ohio State coaching staff. LB Tuf Borland, DT Davon Hamilton, C Josh Myers, WR K.J. Hill and the entire kickoff coverage team were the Players of the Game.

Ohio State generated a season-high 705 yards of total offense and 40 first downs on Saturday against the Terrapins as Myers and the rest of the offensive line opened holes for Ohio State ball carries to generate 383 yards rushing. Hill, meanwhile, had four receptions for 56 yards a touchdown. He caught at least one pass for the 43rd consecutive game, which is the second-longest streak in program history.

Hamilton, who had been a champion after all nine games this year, had two of Ohio State’s season-high seven sacks. Borland, who also had a sack, added five tackles. Maryland was held to just 139 yards of total offense – the ninth time this year that the Buckeyes have given up less than 300 total yards. Ohio State currently leads the country in total defense (214.8 yards/game).

The kickoff team made four tackles inside the 20 yard line, forced two fair catches and also recovered an onside kick in the second quarter.

First-time champions from Saturday’s win include OL Nicholas Petit-Frere, QB Chris Chugunov, OG Gavin Cupp and LB K’Vaughan Pope. SAF Jordan Fuller, WR Chris Olave and LG Jonah Jackson all earned their seventh champion distinctions of the season.

Ohio State Champions vs. Maryland
Defense: DE Tyreke Smith, DE Tyler Friday, DE Zach Harrison, LB Pete Werner, LB Malik Harrison, LB K’Vaughan Pope, CB Jeff Okudah, SAF Jordan Fuller, CB Shaun Wade, CB Sevyn Banks
Players of the Game: DT Davon Hamilton and LB Tuf Borland
Offense: QB Justin Fields, QB Chris Chugunov, RB Master Teague, RB J.K. Dobbins, TE Luke Farrell, WR Chris Olave, WR Ben Victor, WR Garrett Wilson, RT Branden Bowen, RG Wyatt Davis, LG Jonah Jackson, LT Thayer Munford, RT Nicholas Petit-Frere, OG Gavin Cupp
Players of the Game: C Josh Myers and WR K.J. Hill
Special Teams Players of the Game: Kickoff coverage team
Scout Team Players of the Week: RB/CB Xavier Johnson, OL Ryan Jacoby, DL Aaron Cox and SAF Owen Fankhauser