March 22, 2020

‘Centurial Championships’ Coming to the Twitterverse


Facebook | Twitter | Instagram

COLUMBUS, Ohio – Thirty-three Buckeyes from the first 100 seasons of Ohio State wrestling (1921-2020) have been entered into a mythical bracket mirroring those seen at the NCAA Championships — double elimination with places wrestled out to the top-8 finishers. Who will fans crown as the ‘Best Buckeye of the first century’ and who joins him on the podium as members of the 100th season’s All-Buckeye Team at the Centurial Championships?

📝 BRACKET (final results)

All 10 decades produced at least one representative, from the 1920’s to the 2010’s.

So, what does ‘best Buckeye’ mean? Well, that’s up to the voters to decide!

Match-ups winners will be established by Buckeye Nation voting in daily Twitter polls posted on @wrestlingbucks. Just as the NCAA Championships run, this ‘event’ will take place in six sessions. Each session will be extended to a full day, however, for the Centurial Championships.

Monday, March 23 – Bracket release, pigtail bout
Tuesday, March 24 – Session I:  16 first-round bouts
Wednesday, March 25 – Session II:  Round of 16, consolation first round & pigtail
Thursday, March 26 – Session III:  Quarterfinals, two consolation rounds
Friday, March 27 – Session IV:  Semifinals, two consolation rounds including the ‘blood round’
Saturday, March 28 – Session V:  Consolation semifinals and 3rd-7th place bouts
Sunday, March 29 – Session VI:  Finals

In order to qualify for the historic virtual tournament, each wrestler was required to meet at least one of the following criteria:

  • NCAA title(s)
  • Three- or four-time All-American
  • Multiple Big Ten titles
  • Ohio State Athletics Hall of Fame
  • Olympian

Seeding the 33 all-time Buckeyes was determined by utilizing this scoring system:

  • 1 point for each NCAA title won
  • 1 point for three-time All-Americans | 2 points for four-time All-Americans
  • 1 point for Olympians
  • 1 point for OSU Athletics Hall of Famers
  • 1 point for two- or three-time B1G champions | 2 points for four-time B1G champions

Logan Stieber garnered eight points with four NCAA titles (4), being a four-time All-American (2) and four-time B1G champion (2) to earn the No. 1 seed. Second-seeded Kyle Snyder’s seven points came via three NCAA titles (3), a trip to the Olympics (1), four All-American efforts (2) and three Big Ten championships (1). The seeding process continued in that manner until all 33 slots were filled. When point total ties arose, a random generator resolved the seeding within that group. For example, nine different Buckeyes snagged a lone point and were randomly selected as seeds 25-33.