Buckeye fans, help us celebrate! The 2004-05 season will mark the 40th anniversary of Ohio State women’s basketball. A program rich in tradition, the Buckeyes have been competing on the hardwood since the 1965-66 season, which is recognized as the transition from intramural to intercollegiate basketball at Ohio State.

Former head coach Phyllis J. Bailey coached her first official Buckeye squad in Pomerene Hall, the first home of Ohio State basketball. In 1974, the Buckeyes moved to St. John Arena, a venue that played host to seven Big Ten championship teams, a Final Four squad, four All-Americans and numerous all-conference players. Ohio State moved across Lane Avenue to begin the 1998-99 season in modern Value City Arena. The team has made return trips to St. John Arena in each of head coach Jim Foster’s first two seasons – a move that merges the past and present to continue the storied tradition of Ohio State women’s basketball.

Join the festivities by voting on 40 milestones that helped shape the Buckeye program. Fans have the opportunity to vote weekly and help select 40 milestones. Milestones will be introduced at select Ohio State women’s basketball games starting Tuesday, Dec. 21, 2004.

Log on to to cast your vote.

Go Bucks!