Sept. 28, 2004

COLUMBUS, Ohio – The Ohio State men’s hockey team was picked to finish fourth by the media and fifth by the coaches in the Central Collegiate Hockey Association in the annual preseason polls, the league announced Tuesday at its media day at Joe Louis Arena in Detroit.

Michigan was selected first in both polls, followed by Michigan State. The Buckeyes received a first-place vote I the media poll.

The league also released an inaugural preseason all-conference team. Buckeye junior defenseman Nate Guenin, from Aliquippa, Pa., was an honorable mention selection to the team, receiving seven first-team votes.

In addition, the CCHA announced its CSTV and FSN Detroit television schedules, with Ohio State appearing three times. CSTV will broadcast two games from Value City Arena, OSU’s home rink, as the network will televise the Buckeyes’ game vs. Ferris State Jan. 7 and vs. Michigan Jan. 22. Ohio State’s game at Michigan State will be shown live on FSN Detroit. Two other Buckeye games are scheduled to be televised in Ohio, as The Ohio News Network (ONN) will broadcast OSU’s games in the Ohio Hockey Classic Dec. 29-30.

The Buckeyes open the season at New Hampshire Oct. 9 in the first round of the Ice Breaker Tournament in Durham, N.H. Ohio State opens its home slate when it takes on CCHA rival Miami at 7:05 p.m. Oct. 21 in Value City Arena. The Buckeyes were 26-16 last season and finished fourth in the CCHA with a 16-12 ledger. The squad won the CCHA Super Six tournament championship to clinch the league’s automatic berth into the NCAA tournament.

2004-05 CCHA Preseason Polls

Media Poll
1. Michigan (48)
2. Michigan State (6)
3. Miami (1)
4. Ohio State (1)
5. Notre Dame
6. Northern Michigan
7. Western Michigan
8. Bowling Green
9. Ferris State
9. Alaska Fairbanks
11. Lake Superior State
12. Nebraska-Omaha

Coaches Poll
1. Michigan (10)
2. Michigan State (2)
3. Northern Michigan
4. Miami
5. Ohio State
6. Notre Dame
7. Western Michigan
8. Ferris State
9. Bowling Green
10. Lake Superior State
11. Alaska Fairbanks
12. Nebraska-Omaha